Gallatin County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Gallatin County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Gallatin County, Montana|
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 2, 1865|
|Address|| Gallatin County Courthouse|
311 W Main Street
Bozeman, MT 59715-4576
Gallatin County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 2 February 1865 as an original county
- County seat: Bozeman 
- Neighboring Counties: Broadwater | Fremont County, Idaho | Jefferson | Madison | Meagher | Park | Park County, Wyoming | Teton County, Wyoming
Source: Letter of summary dated 9/11/1995 received at the county courthouse and was a requested summary of cemeteries for the tax collector. Phone 406-582-3031
Black's Cemetery - located on the hill where the Bozeman-Norris Road meets the Madison River west of Bozeman. The cemetery is located on the Donald H. Dehaan property. Most of the individuals buried in this cemetery have the last name of Black. The most recent burial was on December 28, 1993 when William Black was buried in the cemetery. The cemetery is fenced and appears to be receiving some periodic maintenance.
Churchill Cemetery - located east of the Manhattan Christian Reformed church in Churchill. This cemetery as well as the Hills cemetery are administered by the Churchill Cemetery Association. Contact: Gene Dykman, 6155 Shady Rest, Amsterdam, MT 59741 ph 406-282-7914
Courts Cemetery - located 1/2 mile north of the Reese Creek Cemetery. This is a private cemetery that was established in 1898. There have been no burials for several years.
Dry Creek Cemetery - located east of Manhattan on a hill northwest of the Dry Creek Church on W. Dry Creek Road. All burial arrangements are handled through the Dry Creek Church. Contact: Paul Skinner, 100 W. Dry Creek Rd., Belgrade, MT 59714 ph 406-388-6389
Edens Cemetery - located about 1/4 mile west of Sheep (Castle)Rock in Gallatin Canyon. This is a private cemetery. Don Edens is the only person buried in the cemetery at this time althought a space has been left for his wife to occupy.
Fairview Cemetery - located on a hill southeast of the Town of Three Forks. Contact: Sharon Smith, P.O. Box 187, Three Forks, MT 59752
Fir Ridge Cemetery - located on the east side of Highway 191, north of West Yellowstone on a hill overlooking Hebgen Lake. This is the only cemetery for the West Yellowstone area. This cemetery is administered by the City of West Yellowstone. Contact: Jo Miller, 400 Yellowstone Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 ph 406-646-7795
Fly (Green) (Cedar Hills) Cemetery - located on the property owned by Mike Anderson, north of Central Park off of Spaulding Bridge Road. This is a private cemetery that is now owned by the Andersons. Contact: Michael Anderson, Manhattan, MT. 5741 406-584-3798
Hamilton (East Gallatin) Cemetery - located near the intersection of Hamilton road & Rector Road. Travel north on Springhill Rd., turn left on Rector, then right on Hamilton. Turn on driveway to the left, then look for farm house, stay right and follow road to the top of the hill. This cemetery was deeded to the Trustees of the East Gallatin Cemetery on April 29, 1890. This cemetery is maintained by volunteers in the area. Contact: Phyllis Wolcott, 7 Gallatin Drive, Bozeman, MT 59715 ph 406-586-7857 or John Stewart ph 406-388-4777
Headwaters Cemetery - located south of Trident, in the Headwaters State Park. This cemetery is no longer being used for burials. The Montana State Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks is responsible for the upkeep of this cemetery. Contact: MDFWP, 1400 South 19th Ave, Bozeman, MT 59715 ph 406-994-5700
Hills (Holland) Cemetery - located in Godfrey Canyon west of the junction of Churchill Road and the Little Holland Road. This cemetery is administerd by the Hill Cemetery Association. Contact: Gene Dykman, 6155 Shady Rest, Amsterdam, MT 59741 ph 406-282-7914
Holy Cross Cemetery - located on North 7th Street in Bozeman, just north of the interstate entrance. Many of those buried here have since been moved to Sunset Hills. The remaining plots are administered by the Holy Rosary Catholic Church. There are no burials being done in this cemetery. Contact: Holy Rosary Catholic Church, 226 W. Main, Bozeman, MT 59715 ph 406-587-4581
Logan Cemetery - located on a hill southwest of Logan. This cemetery has been closed for 10 to 15 years. Only relatives of those already buried in the cemetery are allowed to be buried there now. The cemetery is deeded to Gallatin County. Contact: Gallatin Co Commissioners, 311 W. Main, Bozeman, MT 59715 ph 406-582-3000
Meadowview Cemetery - located one mile south and 1/2 mile east of Manhattan on the former town site of Hamilton. This cemetery is administered by the Meadowview Cemetery Board. Contact: Jackie Ballentine, P.O. Box 333, Manhattan, MT 59741
Morgan Cemetery - located on Rocky Mountain Road north of Morgan Lane, east of Menard and 2 1/2 miles north of Pass Creek. This is a private cemetery on land owned by Morgan Land Company. It was deeded to Z.S. Morgan on January 15, 1906 by State of Montana. Mr. Morgan intended that the cemetery be a neighborhood cemetery only. He invited all of the families in the vicinity to choose which area of the cemetery they wanted their families buried. Since that time, only members of those original families have been buried in the cemetery. Joe and Jane Morgan do almost all of the maintenance for the cemetery. They receive no income from the cemetery as the plots are not sold to the families of those buried there. Contact: Jame Morgan, 19090 Dry Creek Road, Belgrade, MT 59714 ph 406-388-4592
Mount Green Cemetery - located in Willow Creek on the west side of the railroad tracks. The cemetery is administered by the Mount Green Cemetery board. Contact: Mary Miller, 9010 Old Yellowstone Tr., Three Forks, MT
Reese Creek Cemetery - located west of the intersection of Gee Norman Road and Springhill Road. This cemetery is administered by the Reese Cemetery Board. Contact: Gladys or Robert Warwood 406-388-3432
Salesville Cemetery - located on Zachariah Lane north of Gallatin Gateway on Hwy 191. The Salesville Cemetery was deeded to Salesville Trustees on May 31, 1905 to be used as a cemetery. The cemetery is administered by the Salesville Cemetery Board. The cemetery is maintained by volunteer labor and volunteer donations. Contact: Barbara Schrader, 15230 Cottonwood Rd., Bozeman, MT 59715 ph 406-763-4353
Sappington Cemetery - located on the Sappington Ranch on the Jefferson River toward Ennis. This is a private cemetery.
Soldiers Chapel Cemetery - located in Big Sky just beyond the Big Sky turn off of Highway 191, behind the Soldiers Chapel Church. The cemetery is administered by the Soldiers Chapel Board. Contact: Katie Grimm, Gallatin Canyon, Big Sky, MT 59716 ph 406-995-4360
Springhill Cemetery - located on the north side of Springhill Community road, 1/2 mile east of the Community Church. The Springhill Cemetery was deeded to the Springhill Cemetery Association on September 15, 1906. The cemetery is maintained through periodic assessments to relatives of the people buried in the cemetery. The cemetery also receives donations from some service groups as well as the income from the sale of burial plots. contact: Bill Wright, 6433 Springhill Community Road, Belgrade, MT 59714 ph 406-586-6838
Stateler Cemetery - located in Willow Creek on the Cooper Ranch off of Cooper Road. This is a private cemetery that contains the remains of three individuals buried in the 1890's and a bull buried in 1994.
Sunset Memorial Gardens - located between Bozeman and Belgrade on Hwy 10 at 25363 Frontage Road. This cemetery is operated by Sunset Memorial Parks out of Butte, MT. contact: Kaye Romano, 1667 Dewey Blvd., Butte, MT 59704 ph 406-494-3137
Sunset Hills Cemetery - located on the east side of Bozeman by Lindley Park. This cemetery is administered by the City of Bozeman. Contact: City of Bozeman, 411 E. Main, Bozeman, MT 59715 ph 406-582-2327
Woosley (Sedan) Cemetery - located up Bridger Canyon south of Sedan. This cemetery is located on the H. Allen Woosley property. This is a private cemetery. The Woolseys allow the burial of family and friends only. The cemetery has not actually been surveyed by the Woosleys, but they received permission from Gallatin County to dedicate the land as a cemetery. It is their understanding that it can never be sold or used for anything else. They do not charge for the plots and receive no income from the cemetery. They and their families are responsible for the maintenance of the cemetery. Contact: Allen Woosley, Wilsall, MT 59086 ph 406-578-2240
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Gallatin County, Montana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- See an interactive map of Gallatin County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
- Belgrade Journal - full-text of more than 400 issues spanning 1906-1944 freely available online at Google Newspaper Archive.
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Butte and Helena newspapers that may include residents of Gallatin County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gallatin County, Montana newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Gallatin - Probate records.
County Clerk Recorder has birth and death records from 1890, land records from 1865 and military discharge records from 1900; Clerk District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1865
Family History Centers
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- Western States Marriage Index includes marriages 1887-1907
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
|Belgrade||Four Corners||Maudlow||Willow Creek|
|Big Sky||Logan||Three Forks|
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
- This page was last modified on 25 February 2014, at 21:44.
- This page has been accessed 10,929 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback