Garrard County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Garrard County

Guide to Garrard County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Garrard County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Garrard County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 17, 1796
County Seat Lancaster
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Garrard County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Garrard County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1797 1852 1810 1797 1797
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Garrard County Kentucky Courthouse.jpg
Garrard County Courthouse
Public Square
Lancaster, KY 40444
Phone: 859.792.3071[1]

Courthouse hours:
8-4 Mon., Tues., Thurs., Fri.
8-12 Wed., Sat.

Garrard County Kentucky History

Parent County

1796--Garrard County was created 17 December 1796 from Lincoln, Madison and Mercer Counties.
County seat: Lancaster [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

  • Lost census: 1890

Garrard County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bourne Hackley Marcellus Point Leavell
Bryantsville Hamack (hist.) Marksbury Stone
Buckeye Hyattsville McCreary Teatersville
Buena Vista Judson Mount Hebron Three Forks
Cartersville Lancaster New Union (hist.) Toddville
Camp Nelson (hist.) Lowell Nina White Oak
Davistown Manse Paint Lick

Neighboring Counties

Garrard County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kygarrard.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18006,186
18109,18648.5%
182010,85118.1%
183011,8719.4%
184010,480−11.7%
185010,237−2.3%
186010,5312.9%
187010,376−1.5%
188011,70412.8%
189011,138−4.8%
190012,0428.1%
191011,894−1.2%
192012,5035.1%
193011,562−7.5%
194011,9103.0%
195011,029−7.4%
19609,747−11.6%
19709,457−3.0%
198010,85314.8%
199011,5796.7%
200014,79227.7%
Est. 200717,04115.2%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21079.txt

For tips on accessing Garrard County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

The 1890 U.S. Federal Census is lost; however, a substitute is available. See Taxation.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
General

Forrest Calico studied many Garrard County families. His large collection of files, kept in Lancaster, Ky., were microfilmed in 1959: FHL Films 183258-183264.

Bibliography
  • [Alford] James, Jessamine Bland. Family Records of Andrew Hunter of Louisa County, Virginia, and Jacob Alford of Garrard County, Kentucky, and Charles Alford of Garrard Co., Ky. Copied from Court Records, Bibles, and Tombstones. Typescript. Donated 1958. FHL Fiche 6018643
  • [Alford] James, Jessamine Bland. Records of the Andrew Hunter Family of Louisa Co., Virginia, and Jacob Alford Family of Garrard County, Kentucky, and Charles Alford of Garrard County, Kentucky. Typescript, National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Film 854151 Item 6
  • [Bainbridge] Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Bland] James, Jessamine Bland. Records of the Andrew Hunter Family of Louisa Co., Virginia, and Jacob Alford Family of Garrard County, Kentucky, and Charles Alford of Garrard County, Kentucky. Typescript, National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Film 854151 Item 6
  • [Bruce] Smith, Zachary F. and Mary Rogers Clay. The Clay Family. Louisville, Ky.: John P. Morton and Company, 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. and James D. Finley. Before David: An Addendum to David Finley (1754-1848) of Garrard, Kentucky and Orange County, Indiana. Santa Rosa, Calif.: C.J. Finley, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 F496fca
  • [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. "John and Mary Finley of Montgomery (Wythe) County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 34, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1990):243-255; Vol. 35, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1991):18-33; Vol. 35, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1991):122-135; Vol. 35, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1991):173-185; Vol. 35, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1991):251-262. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 34 (1990)-v. 35 (1991).
  • [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. "John Finley of Montgomery/Wythe County, Virginia: Additional Children Identified," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1995):3-22; Vol. 39, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1995):94-103; Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):202-212; Vol. 39, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1995):282-294. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 39 (1995).
  • [Frye] Wylie, William Bird. Bird Genealogy. St. Louis, Mo.: W.B. Wylie, 1903. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 B532w.
  • [Henderson] Robinson, Peggy H. Alexander Hamilton of Garrard County, Kentucky, and His Descendants. Lexington, Ky.: P.H. Robinson, 1975. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 2623
  • [Hill] Hill, L. Henry. Genealogy of the Hill Family of Garrard and Madison Counties, Kentucky. Evansville, Ind.: Unigraphic, 1978. FHL Book 929.273 H55d
  • [Jennings] Loeber, Charles. Jennings Family, Garrard County, Kentucky: Address Delivered ... Consulting Engineer for the Jennings Family Record ... Richmond, Virginia, at a Meeting Held in Garrard County Court House, Lancaster, Kentucky, Monday, December 23rd, 1929 at 7 P.M. Lancaster, Ky.: Printed by the Central Record, 1929. FHL Film 1463955 Item 28.
  • [Letcher] Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [McIntosh] Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Robertson] Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Rogers] Irwin, Lyndon N. The Rogers Family of Paint Lick and Crab Orchard: Ancestry and Descendants Joseph and Ellen Steward Rogers of Garrard, Rockcastle, and Lincoln Counties in Kentucky. Bois D'Arc and Ozark, Mo.: L. Irwin, 1994. FHL Book 929.273 R632i
  • [Sassin] Allen, Cameron. "Francois Sasin/Sassin of Manakin Town: The First Six Generations of the Sassin/Sasseen Family in America," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1993):3-17; Vol. 37, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1993):99-116; Vol. 37, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1993):193-205; Vol. 37, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1993):259-271. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 37 (1993).
  • [Warner] Reynolds, Lyman Foster. Peter Warner Born Maryland - Fredrick County: Revolutionary War Soldier (with George Washington in Capture of Trenton) to Lincoln County Kentucky 1780's, Children Settled in Kentucky; Lincoln, Garrard, Boyle, Mercer & Washington Counties; Indiana Putnam County. Louisville, Ky.: L.F. Reynolds, 2007. FHL Book 929.273 W246r

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • The KY Land Office
  • The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Garrard County land records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:
  1. Deed Books 1797-1802

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Garrard County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Garrard County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Garrard County, Kentucky:


- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J and K.
- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company B.
- 1st Regiment, Kentucky Veteran Cavalry (Wolford's Cavalry) (Union), Company C.
- 3rd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 4th Regiment, Kentucky Mounted Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 7th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I and K.
- 8th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company A.
- 12th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company A.

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Garrard County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Garrard County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Garrard County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Published abstracts
  • 1797, 1799 - Kurtz, Harold J. 1797 and 1799 Tax List of Garrard County, Kentucky. Lancaster, Ky.: Garrard County Historical Society, 1990. FHL Book 976.9525 R4k
  • 1797-1802 - Kurtz, Harold J. 1797-1802 Taxpayers of Garrard County, Kentucky. Lancaster, Ky.: Garrard County Historical Society, 1990, 1997. FHL Book 976.9525 R48k
  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Garrard County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[3] digitized by Ancestry ($).
  • 1890 - Kurtz, Harold J. 1890 Tax List of Garrard County, Kentucky. Richmond, Ky.: Garrard County Historical Society, 198-. FHL Book 976.9 A1 no. 347

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Garrard County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Garrard County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1852-1859 - Garrard County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517371 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874 - Garrard County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517372 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Garrard County Birth Index 1875. Batch C517373 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • 1852-1859 - Garrard County Marriage Index 1852-1859. Batch M517371 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - Garrard County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517374 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1876-1878 - Garrard County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517375 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted

Garrard County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Garrard County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Garrard County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Garrard County, Kentucky page 270, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0b/Igikentuckygl.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 March 2014, at 21:14.
  • This page has been accessed 13,304 times.