Grant County, ArkansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Grant County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Grant County, Arkansas|
Location in the state of Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
|Founded||February 4, 1869|
|Address|| Grant County Courthouse|
101 W Center Street #106; PO Box 364
Sheridan, AR 72150
County seat: Sheridan 
See an interactive map of Grant County boundary changes at N2Genealogy.
- Brush Creek Cemetery, Tennessee BillionGraves
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Grant County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture 
- The common occurrence of prehistoric archaeological sites in Grant County testify to the early presence of Native Americans, who dwelt there for thousands of years before European and American settlement.
- 1800s (early) - Cherokee and Choctaw settlers lived for a time in Grant County before being forcibly removed to Indian Territory.
- 1840s - The inexpensive land attracted settlers; some brought their African-American slaves. They arrived by wagon train, some coming from Alabama.
- 1857-1858 - One typical early white settler was Richard D. Rhodes, who somehow obtained certificates intended for Choctaw settlement and claimed 320 acres of land in 1857 and another 320 acres in 1858.
- 1861 - When the Civil War broke out , many men from Grant County joined Arkansas regiments, and a year later, the area had few able-bodied men left.
- 1869 February 4 - Governor Powell Clayton signed a bill creating Grant County.
- 1933-1942 - The Civilian Conservation Corps was active in Grant County during the Depression. The men at Camp Sheridan were primarily involved in forestry work. Also active in the county was the National Youth Administration, which built school buildings in Prattsville, Grapevine, Oak Grove, Leola, Poyen, and Sheridan
- Family Maps of Grant County, Arkansas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Grant County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.
Finding More Arkansas Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.
- Probate Records 1877-1949 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
- Includes Administration bonds and letters 1877-1949; Administration, executor and guardian settlements 1882-1918; Dockets 1877-1924; Inventories and appraisements 1880-1934; Probate records 1877-1934; Wills 1877-1936.
Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.
- 1877-1953 - Grant County Marriage Books A-K Index 1877-1953 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1877-1921 - Grant County Marriage Books A-E Index 1877-1921 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Grant Co. AR Genealogy page
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 26 February 2014, at 17:13.
- This page has been accessed 5,400 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More