Guam CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png U.S. Census Gotoarrow.png Guam Gotoarrow.png Census


Patron de Alamas: Ano de 1897--Population Census of 1897

• Last and most complete census of the Mariana Islands of the Spanish Administration
• Indicates married individuals, their children and other people living in the house (relationships not specified)
• Follows the Spanish format for names, but not consistently
Index online
• Cabeciera links to image created by Jerry Defane Barr
Images on FamilySearch

Censo Oficial De 1920 Guam--1920 Church Census

• Census of Guam compiled by the Catholic Church, completed between 1919 and 1920. Includes      Catholics, also some Protestants and Pagans
• Lists family members, some lineage and names of deceased spouses
• Includes additional information, such as family member living in Saipan, US Mainland, natural children, civil unions
• Includes index of last names, also page numbers in 1920 census are noted after some names in Souder's Familian Chamarro.
• Some pages of the census have two numbers, one at the top and one at the bottom. Be sure to check both if using the index or the page numbers from Souder.
• Some pages for areas outside of Agana are out of order (although numbered consecutively)
• Not part of the public domain but provided for public research.  Copy at the Richard F. Taitano Microneisa Area Research Center, University of Guam, Mangilao, Guam.
• Citation: Archivo de Los Padres Capuchinos. Burlada, Navarra, Spain. Photocopy August 1970.

U.S. Federal population schedules and indexes

Online Guam census indexes and images

Online U.S. Federal Population Schedules for Guam
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay
FamilySearch Record Search[1] Heritage Quest[2] Ancestry FHL ed.[3] Ancestry Library ed.[3] Ancestry Home ed.[3]
1940 indexes - - - - -
images pending - Link Link Link
1930 indexes - - Link Link Link
images - Link Link Link Link
1920 indexes - Link Link Link Link
images - Link Link Link Link
1910 indexes - Link Link Link Link
images - Link Link Link Link
1900 indexes Link Link Link Link Link
images Armed Forces-Foreign Countries-Guam Link Link Link Link

Available on Microfilm

Federal census records on microfilm are available from the Family History Library and Family History Centers, and Regional Branches of U.S. National Archives.

1900. For a Soundex index on microfilm for U.S. military personnel on Guam see the Military and Naval, 1900 Federal Census: Soundex and Population Schedules. For microfilms of the actual population schedules, see FHL film 1249702

1910. For a microfilm of the U.S. military population schedules for Guam, see the U.S. Military and Naval, 1910 Federal Census: Population Schedules. (FHL film 1375797).

1920. For a Soundex index and civilian populations schedules on microfilm, see Guam, 1920 Federal Census: Soundex and Population Schedules.

1930. For a microfilm of the civilian populations schedules, see American Samoa and Guam, 1930 Federal Census: Population Schedules; NARA microfilm publications T626. (FHL film 2342363).

Sources and Footnotes

  1. Record Search, a rapidly expanding set of free online indexes and document images, including many United States federal and state censuses; part of FamilySearch.
  2. HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 September 2015, at 21:23.
  • This page has been accessed 6,885 times.