Hancock County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Hancock County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Hancock County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 17, 1793|
|Address|| Hancock County Courthouse|
Sparta, GA 31087
Hancock County Website
Hancock County Courthouse
Sparta, GA 31087
Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927, marriage records from 1805 and probate records. Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1919 and land records from 1794.
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Georgia counties see: Georgia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
- [Jackson] Brandenberger, Evelyn Duke. "The Jacksons of Lower Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 30, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1986):163-169; Vol. 30, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1986):288-295; Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):11-18; Vol. 31, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1987):101-111; Vol. 31, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1987):195-204; Vol. 31, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1987):269-278; Vol. 32, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1988):49-57; Vol. 32, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1988):119-130; Vol. 32, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1988):185-192; Vol. 32, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1988):259-263; Vol. 33, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1989):34-44; Vol. 33, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1989):135-143; Vol. 33, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1989):204-207; Vol. 33, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1989):295-304. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 30 (1986)-v. 33 (1989).
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Hancock County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Regiments. Service men in Hancock County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hancock County, Georgia:
- - 6th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- - 15th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and K
- - 49th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hancock County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills 1804-1814 (abstracts) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, Inventories, Annual Returns, Guardianships, Sales, Book G, 1811-1815 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, Inventories, Annual Returns, Guardianships, Sales, Book H, 1811-1815 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, Inventories, Annual Returns, Guardianships, Sales, Book I, 1815-1818 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, Inventories, Annual Returns, Guardianships, Sales, Book J, 1818-1824 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, Book L, 1820-1828 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, Book M, 1823-1828 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Wills 1862-1881 Georgia Pioneers
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..
- 1806-1879 - Hancock County Marriage Books 1 thru 3 Index 1806-1879. Batch M713011 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1869-1876 - Hancock County Marriage Books 4 thru 6 Index 1869-1876. Batch M713012 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1876-1880 - Hancock County Marriage Books 7 and 8 Index 1876-1880. Batch M713013 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1880-1882 - Hancock County Marriage Books 9 and 10 Index 1880-1882. Batch M713014 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1882-1886 - Hancock County Marriage Book 11 Index 1882-1886. Batch M713015 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1886-1891 - Hancock County Marriage Book 12 Index 1886-1891. Batch M713016 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1891-1900 - Hancock County Marriage Book 13 Index 1891-1900. Batch M713017 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Hancock County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Hancock County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Hancock County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hancock County, Georgia. Page 156 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.7 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/57/Igigeorgiael.pdf.
|This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 24 March 2014, at 17:08.
- This page has been accessed 6,685 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback