Help:Deleting a page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Difference between revisions)
(add {{how-to-articles}} and {{Help article}})
Line 1: Line 1:
<br>{{Contributor Help badge}}<br><br>
+
{{how-to-articles}}
 +
{{Help article}}
  
== When not to delete a page  ==
+
=== When not to delete a page  ===
  
 
Typically you would delete a page if the contents are entirely inappropriate and do not match the purposes of the Wiki. In other situations, you would take a less extreme course of action, for example:  
 
Typically you would delete a page if the contents are entirely inappropriate and do not match the purposes of the Wiki. In other situations, you would take a less extreme course of action, for example:  
Line 21: Line 22:
  
 
== Deletion itself  ==
 
== Deletion itself  ==
 
+
{{Contributor Help badge}}
 
'''Normal users cannot permanently delete a Wiki page'''. This is a deliberate design feature, and is an important part of why wikis work. Every kind of editing operation can be reverted by any other user, and that includes resurrecting deleted content. It doesn't cause significant wasted space; and with nothing but a 'delete' label, the page is effectively deleted anyway.  
 
'''Normal users cannot permanently delete a Wiki page'''. This is a deliberate design feature, and is an important part of why wikis work. Every kind of editing operation can be reverted by any other user, and that includes resurrecting deleted content. It doesn't cause significant wasted space; and with nothing but a 'delete' label, the page is effectively deleted anyway.  
  
Line 29: Line 30:
  
 
== See also ==
 
== See also ==
 
+
* [[FamilySearch Wiki:Deletion Process]]
*[[Help:Sysops and permissions]]
+
  
 
{{Help/Category|Help}}
 
{{Help/Category|Help}}

Revision as of 21:10, 20 June 2011

How to ...
Edit
Basic editing
Simple edits
Editing tool
Advanced editing
Links
Using Rich Editor
Internal links
External links
Advanced linking
Pages
Naming
Moving (renaming)
Deleting
Redirects
Style guide
Formatting
Wiki markup
Wikitext cheatsheet
Collaborate
User page
Talk pages
Updates
Tracking changes
Recent changes
Watchlist
Images
Selecting images
Uploading
Getting approved
Adding to articles
Tables
Advanced tables
Spreadsheets
Categories
Categorization
Advanced
categorization
Templates
Quick guide
Advanced templates
Help-content.png This help article will guide you as you edit in the Wiki. See Contributor Help for more help articles.


Contents

When not to delete a page

Typically you would delete a page if the contents are entirely inappropriate and do not match the purposes of the Wiki. In other situations, you would take a less extreme course of action, for example:

  • The page should have a different title -- See Help:Moving a page
  • The contents should have been placed on a different page -- Add the contents to the other page, and then supply a redirect. See Help:Redirects
  • The contents are already on a different page -- Delete the duplicate content and leave a redirect. That way, the page title, which made sense to somebody, will helpfully redirect to the information. See Help:Redirects
  • The page is out-of-date -- Re-word sentences to be in the past tense, to make the page an historical record. Alternatively, label the information as out-of-date, with a warning notice.

An actual delete is generally necessary only if the title of the page is inappropriate. In other situations, a merge and redirect is more appropriate.

Proposing changes

Deciding on appropriate content/page titles can be a difficult aspect of Wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the merge or deletion you have in mind is one which might cause upset, you should propose the change first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page. You might also establish a system for labeling the page with a delete/merge proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions.

Unlinking a page

The 'What links here' toolbox feature (bottom of left sidebar) will tell you which other Wiki pages link to the current page. Always use this feature to check before proceeding with deleting. These related pages will need to be edited for their links to reflect the change.

Deletion itself

Help-content.png Questions?
Visit the Wiki Contributor Help Forum to receive help with contributing to the Wiki.

Normal users cannot permanently delete a Wiki page. This is a deliberate design feature, and is an important part of why wikis work. Every kind of editing operation can be reverted by any other user, and that includes resurrecting deleted content. It doesn't cause significant wasted space; and with nothing but a 'delete' label, the page is effectively deleted anyway.

Marking a page for deletion. Unless the content is offensive you do not need to blank a page, but a deletion flag can be added by typing {{Delete|reason}} replacing the word reason with a short explanation why you recommend the page for deletion. If the explanation cannot be summarised easily or to add further details use the associated talk page.

'Sysop' users are able to delete a page semi-permanently. See Help:Sysop deleting and undeleting. Typically 'sysops' might look for delete labels, and do a proper delete on these pages, after a period of time. If for some reason you need a page to be deleted more quickly than that, you will need to contact a 'sysop' to request this.

See also