Help:Sysop deleting and undeletingEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Difference between revisions)
m (Reverted edits by 216.10.193.22 (Talk) to last revision by Splarka)
 
(')
 
(4 intermediate revisions by 3 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{{PD Help Page}}
+
{{PD Help Page}}  
'''Deleting a page''' is a straightforward operation for anyone with [[Help:Sysops and permissions|sysop permissions]]. Users without such permissions can still remove text from wiki pages, or propose/request that a page should be deleted. See [[Help:Deleting a page]].
+
  
== Before deleting ==
+
{{Help article}}
Sysops should also be aware of the general advice given on [[Help:Deleting a page]] (In particular, note that there are many situations where a deleting is too drastic. Often a redirect is more appropriate for example)
+
  
Before deleting you could perform various checks:
+
<br>'''Deleting a page''' is a straightforward operation for anyone with [[Help:Sysops and permissions|sysop permissions]]. Users without such permissions can still remove text from wiki pages, or propose/request that a page should be deleted. See [[Help:Deleting a page]].
* Use the "What links here" tool. This gives an indication as to how important a page is, and what subjects it relates to. Perhaps the page is still linked to prominently from many places. All incoming links will become red links if you proceed with the delete. Ideally all incoming links should be changed/removed, if there is genuinely no need for this page to exist. You could do this work prior to deleting, or ask others in the wiki community to do it.
+
* Check the page history and the associated talk page. Who was proposing the deletion? Does anyone disagree? Has it been properly discussed? Did people have adequate time to raise objections? Did somebody vandalise a page, which then led to a deletion proposal?
+
  
The care taken over these things might depend on the size of the wiki community, and how clear-cut the case for deletion is. Remember that only sysop users can undo a delete action, so to a normal user the information appears to be lost forever.
+
== Before deleting  ==
  
== Use the 'delete' tab ==
+
Sysops should also be aware of the general advice given on [[Help:Deleting a page]] (In particular, note that there are many situations where a deleting is too drastic. Often a redirect is more appropriate for example)  
Sysops should see a 'delete' tab at the top of every page. Click this to delete the page. You will be asked to confirm, and to supply a "Reason for deletion". This is a short textual description of why the page is being deleted. Your action will appear on the recent changes display, and in the deletion log ([[Special:Log]]).
+
  
== Undeleting ==
+
Before deleting you could perform various checks:
To undelete a page you must navigate to the exact page name of the page. You can find this in the deletion log ([[Special:Log]]) if you dont remember it.
+
 
 +
*Use the "What links here" tool. This gives an indication as to how important a page is, and what subjects it relates to. Perhaps the page is still linked to prominently from many places. All incoming links will become red links if you proceed with the delete. Ideally all incoming links should be changed/removed, if there is genuinely no need for this page to exist. You could do this work prior to deleting, or ask others in the wiki community to do it.
 +
*Check the page history and the associated talk page. Who was proposing the deletion? Does anyone disagree? Has it been properly discussed? Did people have adequate time to raise objections? Did somebody vandalise a page, which then led to a deletion proposal?
 +
 
 +
The care taken over these things might depend on the size of the wiki community, and how clear-cut the case for deletion is. Remember that only sysop users can undo a delete action, so to a normal user the information appears to be lost forever.
 +
 
 +
== Use the 'delete' tab  ==
 +
 
 +
Sysops should see a 'delete' tab at the top of every page. Click this to delete the page. You will be asked to confirm, and to supply a "Reason for deletion". This is a short textual description of why the page is being deleted. Your action will appear on the recent changes display, and in the deletion log ([[Special:Log]]).
 +
 
 +
== Undeleting ==
 +
 
 +
To undelete a page you must navigate to the exact page name of the page. You can find this in the deletion log ([[Special:Log]]) if you don't remember it.  
  
 
You should then see a link to "View or restore n deleted edits". Tick the box next to the revision you wish to restore.
 
You should then see a link to "View or restore n deleted edits". Tick the box next to the revision you wish to restore.
  
==Configuring deletion reasons==
+
== Configuring deletion reasons ==
The list of reasons in the dropdown box is maintained at [[MediaWiki:Deletereason-dropdown]].
+
 
 +
The list of reasons in the dropdown box is maintained at [[MediaWiki:Deletereason-dropdown]].  
  
{{languages|Help:Sysop deleting and undeleting}}
+
[[Category:Help]]
[[Category:Help|Sysop deleting and undeleting]]
+

Latest revision as of 20:56, 9 October 2013

PD Important note: This page started out as a copy of one of the Public Domain Help Pages, which can be freely copied into fresh wiki installations and/or distributed with MediaWiki software; see mw:Help:Contents for an overview of all pages. See Project:PD help/Copying for instructions. PD


Help-content.png This help article will guide you as you edit in the Wiki. See Contributor Help for more help articles.



Deleting a page is a straightforward operation for anyone with sysop permissions. Users without such permissions can still remove text from wiki pages, or propose/request that a page should be deleted. See Help:Deleting a page.

Contents

Before deleting

Sysops should also be aware of the general advice given on Help:Deleting a page (In particular, note that there are many situations where a deleting is too drastic. Often a redirect is more appropriate for example)

Before deleting you could perform various checks:

  • Use the "What links here" tool. This gives an indication as to how important a page is, and what subjects it relates to. Perhaps the page is still linked to prominently from many places. All incoming links will become red links if you proceed with the delete. Ideally all incoming links should be changed/removed, if there is genuinely no need for this page to exist. You could do this work prior to deleting, or ask others in the wiki community to do it.
  • Check the page history and the associated talk page. Who was proposing the deletion? Does anyone disagree? Has it been properly discussed? Did people have adequate time to raise objections? Did somebody vandalise a page, which then led to a deletion proposal?

The care taken over these things might depend on the size of the wiki community, and how clear-cut the case for deletion is. Remember that only sysop users can undo a delete action, so to a normal user the information appears to be lost forever.

Use the 'delete' tab

Sysops should see a 'delete' tab at the top of every page. Click this to delete the page. You will be asked to confirm, and to supply a "Reason for deletion". This is a short textual description of why the page is being deleted. Your action will appear on the recent changes display, and in the deletion log (Special:Log).

Undeleting

To undelete a page you must navigate to the exact page name of the page. You can find this in the deletion log (Special:Log) if you don't remember it.

You should then see a link to "View or restore n deleted edits". Tick the box next to the revision you wish to restore.

Configuring deletion reasons

The list of reasons in the dropdown box is maintained at MediaWiki:Deletereason-dropdown.

  • This page was last modified on 9 October 2013, at 20:56.
  • This page has been accessed 726 times.