Holmes County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Holmes County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Holmes County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Holmes County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Holmes County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Holmes County Courthouse
1 East Jackson
Millesburg, Ohio 44654
Holmes County Website
United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Holmes County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1821
1867
1808
1825
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Killbuck Cemetery

findagrave.com

Nashville Methodist Cemetery

findagrave.com


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Nashville
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Holmes County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Holmes County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories
  • Holmes County Historical Society, Holmes County Historical Sketches: Ohio Bicentennial Edition, 1803-2003, (Holmes County Historical Society, 2002). FHL fiche 6007465; book 977.164 H2ho
  • Holmes County History Book Committee, Holmes County Ohio to 1985, (Salem, West Virginia: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1985). FHL book 977.164 H2hc
  • Egger, Donald, Holmes County, Ohio: Flashes from the Past, (Library Archives of Holmes County, 1963). FHL book 977.1 A1

Land and Property

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Holmes County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:




Maps

Ohhuron.jpg

Military

  • Civil War
    Civil War service men from Morgan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Morgan County.
- 102nd Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and G
- 166th Regiment, Ohio Infantry (National Guard), Companies A, I and K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Holmes County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Holmes County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Holmes County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Holmes County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Holmes County Courthouse
1 East Jackson Street
Millersburg, OH 44654
Phone: 330.674.0286 

Probate Court has birth and death records 1867-1982,
marriage and probate records from 1825 and naturalization
records; Clerk Circuit has divorce and court records;
County Recorder has land and military records; County
Library has burial and census records[1]

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Holmes County, Ohio is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Holmes County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Holmes County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Holmes County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Holmes County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records
Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • 1908-1953 - Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
  • various years - community contributed marriage records Courtesy OhioGenWeb Archives

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Holmes County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Web Sites

Places

Populated Places

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Holmes County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holmes_County,_Ohio (accessed 26 June 2013).
  3. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 March 2014, at 23:18.
  • This page has been accessed 11,288 times.