Howard County, ArkansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Howard County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Howard County, Arkansas|
Location in the state of Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
|Founded||April 17, 1873|
|Address|| Howard County Courthouse; |
421 N Main Street
Nashville, AR 71852
Howard County Courthouse;
421 N Main Street
Nashville, AR 71852
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1873 and some cemetery records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records from 1873
County seat: Nashville 
See an interactive map of Howard County boundary changes at N2Genealogy.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Howard County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture 
- The area is known to have been inhabited by the Caddo tribe.
- 1819 - One of the first settlers was John Tollett, a Methodist minister from Bledsoe County, Tennessee.
- 1820s - This area was also part of the land given to the Choctaw in exchange for property in Mississippi.
- 1820s - Choctaw inhabitation of the area discouraged settlement by white people for several years.
- 1873 April 17 - Howard County was created from portions of Pike, Polk, Hempstead, and Sevier counties.
- 1880s - The railroads arrived, connecting Howard County to the rest of the state and beyond.
- 1920-1970 - The decline of the cotton industry had a ripple effect on the community. The county’s population peaked in 1920 and subsequently declined with each census until 1970.
- Family Maps of Howard County, Arkansas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Regiments. Service men in Howard County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Howard County, Arkansas:
- - 5th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), The Davis Blues
Finding More Arkansas Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.
- Probate Records 1873-1970 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
- Includes Administration and guardian records 1873-1949; Adminstration and executor bonds 1873-1945; Probate records 1873-1889; Wills 1873-1970.
Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.
- 1873-1952 - Howard County Marriage Books A-X Index (1873-1952) and Card File Index (1941-1994) in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 68.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
- This page was last modified on 28 February 2014, at 15:55.
- This page has been accessed 4,379 times.