Indiana GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States Indiana
Guide to Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records
|Welcome to Indiana, The Hoosier State|
|How to Find Information about Indiana Ancestors|
Extinct or Renamed Counties: Richardville
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Indiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- How to order Indiana Vital Records
- State of Indiana County & City Government Court links
- Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps and Atlases
- Indiana Births and Christenings (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Indiana Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Indiana County Marriage Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Indiana, Death Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Family Tree Encyclopedia - Terminology & Meanings of Genealogical Terms
- Printable Genealogy Forms used in Research
- Research in Indiana Military Records
- Find which county a town is in, what town a cemetery is in, even where a postoffice or building is by using the United States Geographical Survey's Geographical Names Information System.
- Indiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies
- History & Facts of Indiana Counties
- David Rumsey Map Collection is a large online collection of rare, old, antique historical atlases, globes, maps, charts plus other cartographic treasures.
- The Indiana GenWeb Project has a wealth of information and is a part of the larger USGenWeb Project. The USGenWeb Project provides internet information on every county in every state in the United States.
- The Indiana Memory Collection is made possible through the collaborative efforts of academic libraries, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives to create and share their digital collections reflecting Indiana's cultural heritage.
- BYU Research Outline for Indiana
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy & Family History Network - Indiana
- The United States Vessel Enrollments for the Great Lakes region. The transcriptions are from a project that involved an attempt to transcribe all steamboat enrollments for Great Lakes ports prior to 1861, all vessels for Detroit and Cleveland up to 1861, and Buffalo up to 1841 are included in the file. The set includes 5741 enrolments in which just under 2000 individual vessels are named, over 6000 people were identified.
Among the major tribes that lived in what is now Indiana were the Delaware, Kickapoo, Miami, Mound Builders, Piankashaw, Potawatomi, Shawnee, and Wea. After 1794, treaties were made that opened up large areas of land for settlement. At the Battle of Tippecanoe in 1811, the Indians were defeated, and white settlements then proceeded at an increased rate. By the 1840s, most of the Indians had moved westward to other lands, either voluntarily or by force. Read more about this subject in the Indiana Native Races article.
Obtain additional help
- Call or chat with an experienced researcher
- Join a Facebook Group
- Consult a Professional Genealogist
Things you can do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:
- This page was last modified on 7 July 2015, at 18:24.
- This page has been accessed 121,770 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News