Kit Carson County, ColoradoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kit Carson County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Kit Carson County, Colorado|
Location in the state of Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
|Founded||April 11, 1889|
|Address|| Kit Carson County Courthouse|
251 16th St
Burlington, CO 80807-0249
Kit Carson County Website
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1889
and burial records from 1902; Clerk District Court has
birth, death, divorce, probate and court records
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
1889--Kit Carson County was created 11 April 1889 from Elbert County.
- Cheyenne County, Kansas
- Sherman County, Kansas
- Wallace County, Kansas
Business Records and Commerce
For tips on accessing Kit Carson County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Kit Carson County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Kit Carson County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:
- Name of Applicant
- Date and Amount of pension payment
- Any adjustments to the pension
- Person's age
- Town nearest to where they lived
- Other Actions done by the County
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Kit Carson County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kit Carson County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Kit Carson County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968
Kit Carson County Birth Report Register 1892 - 1907
Kit Carson County Death Register 1893 - 1907
Kit Carson Cou nty Land Registration Receipts 1913 - 1939
Kit Carson County Old Age Pension 1933 - 1936
Family History Centers
- Burlington Public Library
321 14th Street
Burlington, CO 80807
- Stratton Public Library
331 New York
Stratton, CO 80836
- Flagler Community Library
311 Main Ave
Flagler, CO 80815
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. 
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. 
- Family History Library Catalog
- Kit Carson County, Colorado Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kit Carson County, Colorado. Page 99 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov
- This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 20:51.
- This page has been accessed 5,551 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback