Lewis County, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to New York go to Lewis County

Guide to Lewis County New York genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military, immigration and naturalization records. This page describes sources of genealogical data about Lewis County, New York families, including links to smaller localities in the county. New York-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New York_Online_Genealogy_Records New York
Online Records

Coordinates: 43.79°0′N 75.45°0′W / 43.79°N 75.45°W / 43.79; -75.45

Lewis County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Lewis County
Location in the state of New York
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 28, 1805
County Seat Lowville
Courthouse
Ny-lewis-ch.jpg
Address Lewis County Court House
7660 N State St
Lowville, NY 13367
Lewis County Website

Contents

Lewis County New York Historical Facts

Morgan-Lewis.jpg

The county was named after Morgan Lewis 4th governor of the State.

Parent County

Created 28 March 1805 from Jefferson and Oneida counties.[1]

Neighboring Counties

Herkimer) · Jefferson · Oneida · Oswego · St. Lawrence

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New York County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New York County Boundary Maps" (1683-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in New York Counties see: New York Counties with Burned Courthouses

Lewis County New York Genealogy Resources

Bible Records

  • 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories
Findagrave.com* Family History Library* Findagrave.com*
Interment.net* WorldCat* Tombstone Transcription Project*
Cemetery Site*   NYGenWeb Cemeteries*
New York Gravestones*   epodunk*
NYGenWeb Cemeteries*   Billion Graves*
Billion Graves*   Names in Stone*
Names in Stone*    
Linkpendium*    
Ancestry*    
Stories in Stone    
   *See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site.

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

Federal

U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:

  • Available online at Ancestry ($).
  • Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[2]
  • Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
  • Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.
  • The 1890 Census is lost. For a substitute, see directories.
State
Source 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Ancestry.com - - - Yes - Yes Yes
Yes
Yes Yes Yes
Family History Library Yes Yes - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
FamilySearch Historical Records - - - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
New York State Library Yes Yes - Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

New York State 1865 and 1875 Census Marriage, Mortality; and 1865 Soldier Mortality records:

  • Images available online at New York State Census, 1865 and New York State Census, 1875. Click on the link to go to the page, then click on the ‘Browse through images’ link and select your county, then select an ancestor's town and browse to the end of the population schedule until you find the Marriage, Mortality, and 1865 soldier mortality schedules.
  • Includes marriages and deaths for the 12 months prior to the census, ending 1 June of the census year.
  • Marriage entry content: Husband's name, wife's name, ages and previous marital status, month and day and place of marriage, and church or civil ceremony.
  • Death entry content: Name, age, sex, color, marital status, month and day of death, native state or country, occupation and cause of death.
  • 1865 deaths of officers and enlisted men entry content: Name, age, marital status, citizenship status, enlistment date, original regiment, original rank, regiment at death, rank at death, promotions, death date and place, manner of death, surviving associates, and burial place.
  • Also on microfilm. See the Family History Library line in the above State Census Chart. These can be ordered through any Family History Center.

Church Records

Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level.  Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.

For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.

Additional Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lewis County, New York Church Records  in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.

Adoptions

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

  • Rootsweb message board for Lewis County, New York has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.

History

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.

Original land records in Lewis County, New York began in [?dateyear?]. These records are housed at the [?repository?] in [?town?].

Online

Microforms

Books

Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:

Additional resources

Additional resources for Lewis County, New York land records may be found in the Lewis County, New York – Land Records topic page of the Family History Library Catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Nylewis.jpg

Migration

Military

Civil War

Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.

Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.

Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).

Available towns. Registers are available for: Denmark · Diana · Greig · Harrisburg · Leyden · Lowville · Lyonsdale · Montague · New Bremen · Osceola · Pinckney · Turin · West Turin.

Regiments. Service men in Lewis County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county.[3]

- 1st Battalion, New York Light Artillery, Batteries D and H.
- 7th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Company E
- 14th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies F and I.
- 20th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Companies A, E and F.
- 20th Regiment, New York Cavalry, Companies E and F.
- 35th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 59th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies B and G.
- 97th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies B and H.
- 100th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 130th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company I.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.

Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Lewis County, New York newspaper images:

  • Lowville NY Lewis County Republican 1850-1857
  • Lowville NY Northern Journal 1838-1858


Other resources at Northern New York Historical Newspapers:

  • Lewis County Democrat, 1867-1906
  • Lowville Journal and Republican 1860-1940.

Obituaries

Periodicals

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Probate Records

Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Lewis County, New York County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content:  Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types:  Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.

Probate Petitions

In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [4] [5]

These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Lewis County Surrogate Court.

Online Indexes


Online Probate Records

Original county-by-county New York, Probate Records, 1629-1971 are available free online at FamilySearch. To access these records, click Historical Records below, then click "Browse through 1,630,900 images". Then select the county name, and then the probate records and time of interest.

  • Historical Records - Lewis County: Dower records, 1824-1866; Final settlements, 1856-1883; General index, 1805-1940; Guardianship records, 1830-1855; Letters of administration, 1805-1829, 1856-1881; Letters of administration, Letters of testamentary, 1830-1855; Letters of guardianship, 1806-1829; Letters of testamentary, 1856-1881; Sales, 1824-1894; Wills, 1806-1870

Probate Records on Microfilm

Probate records found at Historical Records and described in Online Probate Records above are also found on microfilm as follows:

Additional Probate Indexes and Abstracts

Additional probate indexes or abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lewis County, New York probate wills in online catalogs like:

Repositories

See also a List of New York Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Cornell University, Guide to Historical Resources in Lewis County, New York Repositories. ([Ithaca, New York]: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1987). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.759 A3. Includes index. Includes references to some family histories and genealogies.

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Libraries

Lowville Free Library
5387 Dayan Street
Lowville, New York 13367
Phone: 315-376-2131
Hours: Monday and Friday 1 - 5 pm
Tuesday and Thursday 10 am - 8 pm
Wednesday 12 - 5 pm
Saturday 10 am - 2 pm
Facebook

County Historian's Office

Lewis County Historian
Masonic Temple Building
7552 South State Street
P.O. Box 446
Lowville, New York 13367
Phone: 315-376-2825

The County Historian may provide access to obituaries, vital records, church records, maps, and family files or journals. Some historians provide search services for their office records and others may refer you to local genealogists who research in the area.

Courthouses

The Lewis County Clerk has birth, death, divorce, court, land, naturalization, miliatry rolls and state census. The Surrogate Court has probate records. For further information about where the records for Lewis County are held, see the Lewis County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Lewis County, New York is the Lowville New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Societies
  • Lewis County Historical Society
    7552 South State Street
    Lowville, New York 13367
    Phone: 315-376-8957 or 315-376-2825
    Email: lewiscountyhistoricalsociety@gmail.com

Collection includes local and regional history books, farm and business directories, obituaries, cemetery records, early newspapers on microfilm (182501993), immigration index, photographs, genealogies, historical documents and morel


Member queries; surname research list; online resources; six meetings/year; publication: Tree Talks (At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 B2t) quarterly with annual index.
Counties served: Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Oreleans, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, St. Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Washington, Wayne, Warren, Wyoming, and Yates.

Social Groups Online

Taxation

Town Records

Town records in New York may include early births, marriages, deaths, divorces, local histories, selected military records, and town meeting minutes. For further details, try the links to individual town Wiki pages found in Places. See also:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). NEHGS online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists.


Vital Records

Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. See also How to order New York Vital Records or order electronically online.

See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.

Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.

  • 1856-1954 Northern NY Library Network Newspaper Search. Includes Black River Democrat (1913-1943), Lewis County Banner (1856-1859), Lewis County Democrat (1867-1906), Lowville Herald & Lewis County Democrat (1910-1914), Lowville Journal and Republican (1860-1955), Lowville Leader (1943-1953), Lowville Leader and Lyons-Leyden Ledger (1953-1954), Lowville Times (1876-1884), and Lowville Times Lewis County Independent (1884-1891).
Birth

Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.

Birth Substitutes

  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for birth information.
Marriage

Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Lewis County clerk starting in 1908 and go until 1935.

Marriage Substitutes

  • 1800–1855 New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groom, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
  • 1831-1859 Crawford, Anna E. Marriage and Death Dates from the Black River Gazette of 1831-32 and the Northern Journal of 1838-45, 1847-53, 1855-59. Lowville, N.Y., 1986. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1864-5, 1874-5 See Marriage Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for marriage information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.
Divorce

Pre–1787

All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare.

1787–1847

All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery.

1847–present

All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records.

Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.

Death

Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.

Death Substitutes

  • 1831-1859 Crawford, Anna E. Marriage and Death Dates from the Black River Gazette of 1831-32 and the Northern Journal of 1838-45, 1847-53, 1855-59. Lowville, N.Y., 1986. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information.
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.
  • 1864-5, 1874-5 See Mortality Schedule information in the State Census section of Census for death information for 1864-5, and 1874-5.

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Lewis County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Lewis– Vital Records topic page of the Family History Library Catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Voting Registers

Lewis County New York Places

Lewis County New York Genealogy Websites

Lewis County New York Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 489. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
  3. Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
  4. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  5. Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
  6. About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.
  7. Central New York Genealogical Society at http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~nycnygs/index.htm (accessed 1 November 2011).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

 
        Share Your Opinion!

Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.

Give Feedback
Getting Started
Volunteer and Helper
Views
Toolbox
Personal tools