Lincoln National Park - South AustraliaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
European history in the Port Lincoln area is first recorded in Matthew Flinders voyage of discovery aboard the Investigator in 1802. French explorer Nicolas Baudin, aboard the Le Géographe followed a short time later. There are a number of features within and surrounding the park that were named by Matthew Flinders during his time in the area.
Stamford Hill was named by Matthew Flinders after a village in his homeland, Lincolnshire. Flinders climbed Stamford Hill in search of freshwater on 26 February 1802 and surveyed the surrounding area. In 1841, a monument to Flinders was erected at the top of the hill. A replica stands there today.
Colonial settlers moved into the area in the mid 1800s. Areas of cleared land scattered throughout the park are a result of failed crops and livestock farming during the late 1800s and early 1900s. Shallow and poor soils were the main causes of failure. Wells, ruins, fence lines and farm machinery remain as a testament to this early occupation.
Whaling and sealing occurred for a few decades in the early 1800s but seal and whale numbers were so depleted by the 1840s that this hunting soon ceased.
During the mid 1800s and early this century, woodcutters worked in areas now included in the park. Woodpiles could still be found around the Woodcutters Beach area up until the 'Tulka' fire of 2001.
Lincoln National Park was first dedicated as a Flora and Fauna Reserve in 1941, to protect coastal vegetation of the Eyre Peninsula and as a summer refuge area for migratory birds.