Llan-giwgEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Online Family Trees
1801: 829 1811: 1060 1821: 1428 1831: 1847 1841: 2813 1851: 4229
|Years||Marcher Lordship / County|
|pre 1536|| -the lordship of Glamorgan and Morgannwg
-the lordship of Gower and Kilvey
|1536 - 31 March 1974||Glamorgan|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996|| |
|from 1 April 1996|| |
Hamlets: Alltgreig, Blaenegel, Caegurwen, and Mawr.
Neath 1 July 1837 - 1 July 1875
Pontardawe 1 July 1875 - 1 January 1935
West Glamorgan 1 January 1935 - 1 April 1974
Swansea 1 April 1974 - present
Resources for finding ancestors
To start your search, decide when your ancestor lived. If he or she lived between 1837-1911, start by searching civil registration and census records. If they lived before 1837, use church records and probate records. Read more about these and other records below.
The 1841-1911 censuses are available online with indexes and images:
- The following Llangiwg parish records are available at the Family History Library
|Bishop Transcripts: Christenings, Marriages, Burials and Christenings and Burials||1685-1713; 1725-1834 1837-1866|
The Glamorgan Family History Society have published many of the parish registers.
Nonconformist Church Records
The following chapel records from Llan-giwg parish are available on the IGI:
|Cwmllynfell Chapel (Independent) Births and Baptisms||1760-1835|| |
The following chapel records have been deposited at an archive:
|Pant teg||Christenings 1822-1837||TNA RG4 3495 FHL 813540|
Births, marriages and deaths in Llan-giwg will be recorded in the GRO indexes as:
|1 Jul 1837 - 1974||
- Carmel: transcript at West Glamorgan Archives
- Cwmllynfell (old) (publication of transcript and index expected in 2014)
- Cwmllynfell (new) (publication of transcript and index expected in 2014)
- Gwrhyd: transcript & index published by Glamorgan Family History Society
- Llan-giwg parish church (publication of transcript and index expected in 2014)
- Saron Chapel (old & new): transcript & index published by Glamorgan Family History Society
The tithe agreement date for Llan-giwg was 2 August 1838. A transcript is available online.
- In the Footsteps of Saints and Sinners: Llangiwg Church past, present and future by D. Gerald O. James
- The Diaries of Margaret Penrerel Jones of Garth 1871 to 1897 edited by Dr. Peter Jackson
- The History of Pontardawe by J.E. Morgan
- The Joneses and Penderels of Garth Rhydyfro, Pontardawe by Elizabeth F. Belcham
Llangiwg a site by Friends of Llangiwg Church
Photos (church and family)
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:18.
- This page has been accessed 2,965 times.