Llangunider, BreconshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
LLANGYNIDER (LLAN-GYNIDR), a parish, in the union and hundred of Crickhowel, county of Brecknock, South Wales, 4 miles (N. W.) from Crickhowel; containing the hamlets of Blaen, Vro, and Dyfryn. This place derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Cynyd, or Cynydr, who lived in religious seclusion in Glamorgan, in the sixth century. The parish extends from the southern bank of the Usk to the confines of Monmouthshire and Glamorgan, and is bounded on the north by that river. The church, a plain small edifice, situated in the hamlet of Vro, consists of a nave and chancel. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists.
Also spelled Llangynidr. LLANGUNIDER, (or Llangynider), a parish in the hundred of Crickhowell, county Brecon, 4 miles N.W. of Crickhowell, its post town, and 8 S.E. of Brecknock. It is situated near the foot of the Bwlch mountains on the river Usk and the Brecon canal. The Trivel tram-road passes through it. The parish includes the townships of Blainey, Duffryn and Fro Collieries, quarries, and the Clydach ironworks are the chief sources of employment. In the neighbourhood of the village are Duffryn, Crownan, and Buckland Mill. For more information seeLlangynidr, Breconshire at Genuki.org.uk
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464299. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
- This page was last modified on 28 January 2014, at 22:54.
- This page has been accessed 147 times.