Manchester St Paul, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Manchester St Paul, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manchester St Paul, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Chorlton; Manchester; Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1924
Bishop's Transcripts: 1822
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

The Cathedral Church of Manchester contains many parishes. St. Paul's,[located on New Cross] was erected in 1765; it was greatly enlarged, and re-consecrated in 1778, and a district has been lately assigned. This church has the largest Sunday schools perhaps in Christendom attached to it.[1]

Manchester St Paul New Cross With St Michael and St Thomas Redbank was created as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1929.
www.images.manchester.gov.uk/libraries for images of the church Manchester Libraries Image Collection

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

St Paul Manchester chapelry has online data transcriptions for many of its baptisms, marriages and burials. Since it resided within the Manchester Cathedral (the ancient parish) boundary, also note links to the parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys as well. Displayed below are the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
MANCHESTER ST PAUL'S NEW CROSS Chapelry (1765) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1765-1910 1838-1932 None
LOPC 1822-1843 None None
LBMD 1837-1881 1838-1973 1837-1881

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all of Manchester City's chapelries and district church registers and the links to their online data of baptisms, marriages and burials, see the ancient parish (Cathedral) of MANCHESTER, OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

Parish registers for St. Paul's Church, New Cross, Manchester, 1765-1960 have been microfilmed by FamilySearch. Copies of originals are at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England and previously held at Manchester Central Library.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1765-1924. Marriages, 1838-1960. Marriage banns, 1879-1948. Document of consecration, 1765.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113202


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721.


Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,218 times.