Maricopa County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Arizona go to Maricopa County

Guide to Maricopa County Arizona genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Maricopa County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Maricopa County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1871
County Seat Phoenix
Courthouse
Address 201 W. Jefferson

Phoenix, AZ. 85003-2243

Contents

County Courthouse 

Maricopa County Courthouse
301 W Jefferson
Phoenix, Az 85033-2225
Phone: 602-506-3572

Clerk Superior Court

  • marriage records from 1877,
  • divorce records from 1930
  • probate and court records from 1871

County Recorder has land records [1]

Parent County

14 Feb 1871 - Arizona created Maricopa County from land in Yavapai County.[12] County seat: Phoenix [13] This county named for the Maricopa Indians. Look for records in Maricopa and Yavapai counties.

Boundary Changes

  • 14 Feb 1873 - Arizona expanded Maricopa County by adding land from Pima County.[14] Look for records in Maricopa and Pima, counties.
  • 1 Feb 1875 - Arizona created Pinal County from lands in Maricopa and Pima counties.[15] This county named for the Pinal mountains. Look for records in Maricopa, Pima, and Pinal counties.
  • 31 Jan 1877 - Maricopa county gained land from Yavapai county, and lost a small area along the Gila River to Pima.[16] Look for records in Maricopa, Pima, and Yavapai counties.
  • 8 February 1881 - Gila County was created from lands in Maricopa and Pinal Counties.[17]  [13] This county named for the Gila River. Look for records in the Gila, Maricopa, and Pima counties.


See also Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Apache Junction (most of Apache Junction is in Pinal County) | Avondale | Chandler| El Mirage | Gilbert | Glendale | Goodyear | Litchfield Park | Mesa| Peoria (part of Peoria is in Yavapai County) | Phoenix| Scottsdale | Surprise | Tempe | Tolleson

Towns

Buckeye | Carefree | Cave Creek| Fountain Hills | Gila Bend | Guadalupe | Paradise Valley | Queen Creek (part of Queen Creek is in Pinal County) | Wickenburg| Youngtown

Other Communities

Aguila | Anthem | Arlington | Circle City | Higley | Komatke | Laveen | Liberty | Mobile | Morristown | Palo Verde | Tonopah | Tortilla Flat | Waddell | Wintersburg | Wittmann

Neighboring Counties


Resources

Cemeteries

General Websites

Specific Websites


Census

For tips on accessing Maricopa County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records:  Alma, Avondale, Buckeye, Capitol (Phoenix), Chandler, Gilbert, Glendale, Lehi, Mesa, Mesa 1st, Mesa 2nd, Mesa 3rd, Mesa 4th, Mesa 5th, Mesa 6th, Mesa 7th, Mesa 8th, Papago, Phoenix, Phoenix 1st, Phoenix 2nd, Phoenix 3rd, Phoenix 4th, Phoenix 5th, Scottsdale, Spanish-American and Tempe .

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

All Land records and other other recorded documents from 1871 to present, are searchable at no cost through the website of the Maricopa County Recorder. The minimum information needed for a search is the name of a person.

Most of the land in Arizona was originally obtained from the US federal government by a patent. These General Land Office Records are searchable online and most have free images of patents to download. The minimum information needed for a search is the state where the land is located and the name of the person receiving the patent. Surveys and Land Status Records can also be searched here.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Maricopa County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Maps

Azmaricopa.png 1895 Map of Maricopa county Arizona

Military

Newspapers

The Arizona Republic

The Phoenix Gazette

The East Valley Tribune  (previously: The Mesa Tribune) microfilm copies of back issues found at

     Mesa Public Library
     64 E First St
     Mesa, AZ 85201
     480-644-2207


Maricopa county AZ Newpapers found at the Library of Congress

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Maricopa County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Maricopa - Probate records.

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Societies and Libraries

Arizona Historical Society, Museum at Papago Park The Arizona Historical Society Museum at Papago Park is the principal museum in the Phoenix metropolitan area covering the changes that have made Arizona what it is today. Concentrating on the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, the museum engages visitors on diverse topics such as World War II’s effects on Arizona, the rise of desert cities, Arizona pop culture and sports, and the state’s geology, among many others. The museum brings stories to life through hands-on and multimedia displays, and a variety of educational programs.

Arizona Jewish Historical Society Dedicated to preserving local Jewish history, promoting awareness of our states diverse history, and making local history accessible to all.

Carver African American Historical/Genealogical Society
415 E. Grant St.
Phoenix, AZ 85023

Cherokee Family Ties
516 N. 38th St.
Mesa, Arizona 85205

Chandler Historical Society helps to focus public attention on the diverse history of Chandler and the far southwest valley through events and special programs, and is dedicated to historic preservation through financial and volunteer support.

Gilbert Historical Society, Inc. Our mission is to serve as a trustee of our historical legacy and as a catalyst for shaping our future. We will accomplish this by fostering learning and research with a commitment to preservation, engaging the community with opportunities to understand past choices, present circumstances, and future possibilities, and strengthening the bonds of the community and facilitating solutions to common problems through leadership and advocacy.

Glendale Arizona Historical Society To promote public awareness and appreciation of the history of Glendale and the surrounding region, collects, preserves, and interprets documentary material and material objects, and it disseminates historical information and supports scholarly research.

Maricopa County Historical Society The Desert Caballeros Western Museum welcomes and enriches diverse audiences by inspiring an appreciation of the art and history of the American West through creative exhibitions and educational programs that preserve the West’s cultural legacy.

Mesa Historical Society The mission is to preserve and create interest in the tangible evidences of local and regional communities and of settlement and development of Mesa, Arizona by: locating and preserving written and spoken records; obtaining and preserving artifacts and memorabilia; locating and preserving photographs; obtaining and preserving local landmarks; working to benefit and maintain the Mesa Historical Museum; publishing and making available the history of the Mesa area; and promoting cooperation with similar organizations and with local civic and social groups in furthering the mutual interests of the groups relative to Mesa's history.

Peoria Arizona Historical Society Mission is to discover and preserve the history of the Peoria area for future generations to enjoy.

Phoenix Genealogical Society The purpose is to provide a forum for shared Genealogy Issues, provide help and guides for members who request it, do selected research for corresponding Genealogy Societies and individuals, and do peer review of member files when requested.

San Tan Historical Society To collect, preserve, document, and display the histories and artifacts of the Chandler Heights, Combs, Higley, and Queen Creek Communities. To facilitate the collection of items and to encourage and educate the public to respect and participate in the conservation of the history of our past.

Scottsdale Historical Museum

Sun Cities Area Historical Society is dedicated to the preservation and presentation of records and artifacts through carefully designed exhibits that chronicle the more than 50-year history of Sun City and the 25-year history of its sister city, Sun City West.

Tempe Historical Society promotes the Tempe History Museum with special events and program sponsorship.

West Valley Genealogical Society serves Genealogists throughout the Northwest Valley area of Maricopa County, Arizona. The WVGS is a non-profit corporation dedicated to researching, recording, and sharing genealogical & ethnic information. serves Genealogists throughout the Northwest Valley area of Maricopa County, Arizona.

Family History Centers

IIntroduction to Family History Centers

Buckeye Arizona
1002 Eason Ave Buckeye,
Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 623-386-4188

Cave Creek Arizona
38001 N Basin Rd
Cave Creek, Maricopa, Arizona,
United States Phone: 480-488-9224

Chandler Arizona Alma
2252 W Mesquite Chandler,
Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 480-899-4312
Alternate phone # 480-244-8180

Chandler Arizona West
1950 W Galveston
Chandler, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 480-857-8640

Glendale Arizona
8602 N 31st Ave
Phoenix, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 602-973-3216

Mesa Arizona Kimball East
4640 E Holmes Mesa,
Maricopa, Arizona, United States

Mesa Regional Family History Center also known as the Mesa Arizona Large Multistake
41 South Hobson Mesa,
Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 480-964-1200

Mesa Arizona Salt River
6942 E Brown Rd
Mesa, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 480-924-8958

Paradise Valley Arizona
3601 E Shea Blvd
Phoenix, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 602-953-8160

Peoria Arizona
13014 N 108th Ave
Sun City, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 623-974-2749

Phoenix Arizona
3102 18th Ave North
Phoenix, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 602-264-2825

Phoenix Arizona Deer Valley
2939 W Rose Garden Ln
Phoenix, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 623-582-3810

Phoenix Arizona Hispanic
650 W Southern Ave
Phoenix, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 602-243-9413

Phoenix Arizona North
8710 N 3rd Ave
Phoenix, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 602-371-0649

Scottsdale Arizona Camelback
2202 N 74th St
Scottsdale, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 480-947-3995

Scottsdale Arizona North
6840 E Gold Dust Ave
Scottsdale, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 480-483-7629

Wickenburg Arizona
1350 W Wickenburg Way
Wickenburg, Maricopa, Arizona, United States
Phone: 928-684-2446 Attention: Languages; Spanish, French, Dutch, German

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Web Sites

A wiki article descibing an online article is found at:

Arizona, Maricopa County Probate Case Files (FamilySearch Historical Records)

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maricopa County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
  8. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
  9. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
  10. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  11. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  12. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1871, 6th assy./ pp. 53-54
  13. 13.0 13.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  14. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1873, 7th assy./ p. 87
  15. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1875, 8th assy./ pp. 19-20
  16. Arizona Territorial Laws 1877, 9th assy. pp. 12-13
  17. Arizona Territorial Laws 1881, 11th assy. pp. 14-17

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 March 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 16,972 times.