Mineral County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mineral County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Mineral County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||February 1, 1866|
|Address|| Mineral County Courthouse|
150 Armstrong Street
Keyser, WV 26726-3505
Mineral County Website
County Clerk has birth, marriage death, probate, and land records from 1866
- Early records of Hampshire, Monongalia and Mineral counties The information is mostly extracted from land records and bible records, ca. 1757-1899.
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
For tips on accessing Mineral County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Join us in indexing the 1940 Census
Compiled genealogies that treat multiple Mineral County families include:
- O'Dell, Cecil. Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia. Marceline, Mo.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Collection. One of the most impressively researched one-place studies in the United States. In a review, Dorman stated "Comprehensive studies such as this appear only rarely. This volume should be in every Virginia genealogical collection."
- West Virginia, Civil War Newspapers Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
- West Virginia Will Books
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.
. Includes marriages 1866-1969 - free.
- Mineral County, West Virginia marriages, deaths, wills and family records (1800-1900) : copied from Keyser court house records
- Mineral County, West Virginia births, 1866-1899 : copied from Keyser court house records
Societies and Libraries
Mineral County Historical Landmark Commission
Burlington, West Virginia 26710
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Mineral County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
- Mineral County, West Virginia Various records on Microfilm at the Library of Virginia
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mineral County, West Virginia. Page 744 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):236.
- This page was last modified on 13 April 2015, at 19:41.
- This page has been accessed 5,964 times.