Morrison County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Morrison County

Guide to Morrison County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Morrison County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Morrison County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 25, 1856
County Seat Little Falls
Courthouse
Address Morrison County Courthouse
213 1st Ave SE
Little Falls, MN 56345
Phone: 320.632.1045
Morrison County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and some cemetery records,
land and military records; Court Administration has divorce, probate and court records[1]

History

Parent County

  • 1856--Morrison County was created 25 February 1856 from Benton and Stearns Counties.

County seat: Little Falls [2]

  • For a brief history on how Morrison County was named, click here, then select Morrison County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

For a list of cities and towns go to hometownlocator.com or wikipedia.com.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Biography

Morrison County Historical Society WPA Biographies. 1,130 biographies written 1936–1939. Index available online. Copies can be requested by calling the Morrison County Historical Society at 320-632-4007 or e–mail contactstaff@morrisoncountyhistory.org.

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the Family History Library Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Morrison – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Morrison County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnmorrison.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Morrison County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Morrison County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E.
- 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company I.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Morrison County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

The Morrison County Historical Society has a large collection of newspapers, both in original format and on microfilm. Online listing. Copies can be requested by calling the Morrison County Historical Society at 320-632-4007 or e–mail contactstaff@morrisoncountyhistory.org. Research and copy fees will apply.

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Societies

Morrison County Historical Society
2151 South Lindbergh Drive
Little Falls, Minnesota 56345
Phone: 320-632-4007
E–mail contactstaff@morrisoncountyhistory.org.

Collection: Morrison County Historical Society

  • WPA Biographies. 1,130 biographies written 1936–1939. Index available online.
  • Local newspapers. Online listing.

Copies may be requested by contacting the Historical Society. Research and copy fees apply.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Morrison County, Minnesota page 366, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2013, at 02:11.
  • This page has been accessed 3,210 times.