North Dakota CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  North Dakota  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.


  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online North Dakota indexes and images

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of North Dakota 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1925 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1915 State indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - Link Link Link - -
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1885 Federal indexes - - Link - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - - - - - -
1880 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Dak
Terr
Link
Dak
Terr
Link
- Link - Dak
Terr
Link
Dak
Terr
Link
Dak
Terr
Link
- Link
1860[8] indexes Link - Link Link Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Dak
Terr
Link
NE
Terr
Link
Link Link Link Dak
Terr
Link
NE
Terr
Link
Dak
Terr
Link
NE
Terr
Link
Dak
Terr
Link
NE
Terr
Link
- Link
1857[9] indexes - - - - - Link Link Link - -
images - - - - - MN
Terr
Link
MN
Terr
Link
MN
Terr
Link
- -
1850[10] indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link MN
Terr
Link
- - - MN
Terr
Link
MN
Terr
Link
MN
Terr
Link
- Link
1840[11] indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images IA
Terr
Link
IA
Terr
Link
- - - IA
Terr
Link
IA
Terr
Link
IA
Terr
Link
- Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 1870 
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624  1870 M593
1930 T626 1900 T623 and Soundex T1064 1860 M653
1920 T625 and Soundex M1580 1880 T9 and Soundex T740
   

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of North Dakota, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for North Dakota

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans Link - - - Link Link Link
1885 Mortality - - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - - - Lost Lost Lost
1860 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1850 Mortality[12] Link - - - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

Indian rolls, Turtle Moutain, 1910-1939 Indian census rolls, Ft. Berthold, 1889-1939
Indian census rolls, Fort Totten, 1906-1939 Males over 18 years of age, 1889
French Canadians, 1900 Indian rolls, Devils Lake Agency, 1885-1905
Turtle Mountain Chippewa, Roulete, ND, 1900 Standing Rock Agency census, 1876-1939
Civil War Union veterans and widows, 1890

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of North Dakota, click here.

State and territorial censuses

North Dakota often took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

North Dakota (Dakota Territory 1860-1900) state, territorial, or colonial censuses[13][14]
1925 Exist
1915 Exist
1885 Exist
1857 Exists as part of a special federal census of Minnesota Territory[15]

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing North Dakota censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. In 1860 people living in what is now North Dakota were enumerated in the "unorganized" part of the Dakota Territory census population schedules along with people in what is now South Dakota. Those schedules included Fort Clark, Fort Union, Fort William, and Pembina, all in what is now North Dakota. In 1860 land west of the Missouri River technically was part of Nebraska Terrritory, but no locales on the Nebraska Territory census can be identified definitely as being in present-day North Dakota.
  9. In 1857 the white residents in what is now North Dakota lived in what was then Pembina County, Minnesota Territory.
  10. In 1850 the only white residents in what is now North Dakota lived in what was then Pembina County, Minnesota Territory.
  11. Theoretically, in 1840 the white residents in what is now Pembina, North Dakota lived in what was then Clayton County, Iowa Territory. The 1840 population schedules of Clayton County do not seem to list residents of remote Pembina, 400 miles from present-day Clayton County.
  12. For deceased former residents in what is now North Dakota see the Pembina County, Minnesota Territory 1850 census mortality schedules.
  13. Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992), 90.
  14. Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948), 51-52, 71.
  15. In 1857 the white residents in what is now Pembina, North Dakota were enumerated as part of a special federal census in what was then Pembina County, Minnesota Territory. See William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), pages 172, and 259.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2012, at 23:26.
  • This page has been accessed 8,218 times.