Pinal County, ArizonaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Pinal County Arizona genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pinal County, Arizona|
Location in the state of Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
|Founded||February 1, 1875|
|Address|| Pinal County|
Superior Court Administration
Pinal County Courthouse
100 N Florence
Florence, AZ 85232
Clerk Superior Court has marriage, probate and court records from 1875
and divorce records from 1883; County Recorder has land records 
- Until 1821 - New Spain controlled land that later would become Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
- In 1821 - Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become Arizona. Records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
- 18 Aug 1846 - During the war with Mexico, the US took control of Santa Fe and proclaimed sovereignty over the land that later became the New Mexico Territory. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 4 July 1848 - In the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, Mexico ceded part of present day Arizona. The land south of the Gila River in present day Maricopa County Arizona was not ceded, it remained in control of Mexico. Land in present day Pinal County was split between the US and Mexico. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 9 Jan 1852 - New Mexico redefined the boundaries of previous counties and created new ones to cover all the land within its territory. The north part of present day Pinal County was then in Socorro County.   Look for records in Socorro County.
- 30 Dec 1853 - The United States bought the Gadsden Purchase from Mexico. It contained land south of the Gila River in Arizona, including the south part of present day Pinal County. Look for records in the National Archives and Records Administration, the Mexico Archives, and the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 4 Aug 1854 - The land acquired in the Gadsden Purchase was officially added to New Mexico Territory. Look for records in the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- 3 Feb 1855 - Dona Ana County gained all the land acquired in the Gadsden Purchase. This included the south part of present day Pinal County. Look for records in Dona Ana County.
- 24 Feb 1863 - The US created the Arizona Territory from the western half of New Mexico Territory. All previous counties were discontinued for this new territory. Look for records in the Arizona State Library and New Mexico State Records Center and Archives
- 10 Nov 1864 - Arizona created two counties: Pima and Yavapai counties. These counties named for Indian tribes. Look for records in Pima andYavapai counties.
- 14 Feb 1871 - Arizona created Maricopa County from land in Yavapai County.  This county named for the Maricopa Indians. Look for records in Maricopa and Yavapai counties.
1 Feb 1875 - Arizona created Pinal County from lands in Maricopa and Pima counties. County seat: Florence  This county named for the Pinal mountains. Look for records in Maricopa, Pima, and Pinal counties.
- 9 Feb 1877 - Arizona expanded Pinal County by adding a small area of land that had been separated from main body of Pima County. Look for records in Pima and Pinal counties
See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.
For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses
|Adamsville||Chiapuk||Jackrabbit House||Parsons Grove||Smelter Town|
|Ak-Chin Village||Cochran||Kelvin||Price||Sombrero Butte|
|Apache Junction||Coolidge||Kohatk||Queen Valley||Sonora|
|Arizola||Cooper Creek||La Palma||Randolph||South Santan|
|Bapchule||Eleven Mile Corner||Mammoth||Red Rock||Superior|
|Blackwater||Enid||Maricopa Wells||Riverside||Tat Momoli|
|Branaman||Florence Junction||North Komelik||Sacaton||Toltec|
|Burns||Fordville||North Mammoth||Sacaton Flats||Troy|
|Cactus Forest||Friendly Corners||Oak Wells||San Manuel||Vaiva Vo|
|Campo Bonito||Gold Camp||Olberg||Santa Cruz||Valley Farms|
|Casa Blanca||Hayden Junction||Oracle||Santan||Wymola|
|Casa del Oro||Heaton||Oracle Junction||Shopishk||Youngberg|
|Casa Grande||Highjinks||Palm Springs||Sif Vaya|
- Arizona Cemetery Transcription and Photo Project
- BillionGraves.com - Provides photos and GPS locations of grave markers.
- Cyndi's List - Cemeteries & funeral homes
For tips on accessing Pinal County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Pinal County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.
Finding More Arizona Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pinal County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:
From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Pinal - Probate records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services or the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- 1,521 marriages from 15 Nov 1874 to 19 Apr 1916 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
- Pinal County, Arizona Obituary Collection From GenealogyBuff.com ~ Free. Obits and death notices from Various Funeral Homes in the Apache Junction and Gold Canyon areas
Societies and Libraries
Casa Grande Valley Historical Society
110 W. Florence Blvd.
Casa Grande, AZ 85222
Hours 1-5 M-Sat.
Coolidge Historical Society
161 West Harding Avenue
P.O. Box 1186
Coolidge, Arizona 85228
Hours Sunday 1:00 P.M. –
4:00 P.M. and by request
Pinal County Historical Society
715 S. Main Street
Florence, AZ 85232
Hours 11-4 Tues.-Sat.; 12-4 Sun
Oracle Historical Society
825 E. Mt. Lemmon Rd.
Oracle, AZ 85623
Hours 1-5 Sat. & Sun.
Superior Historical Society
300 Main Street
Superior, AZ 85273
Hours 10-2 Weds., Thurs., Sat.; 11-3 Sun.
Family History Centers
San Manuel 1st Arizona
1002 N McNab Pkwy
San Manuel, Pinal, Arizona, United States
These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
- Pinal County, AZ History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Pinal County, Arizona Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pinal County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Williams 108-110
- ↑ U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
- ↑ N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- ↑ Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
- ↑ U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
- ↑ U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
- ↑ N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
- ↑ U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
- ↑ Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
- ↑ Ariz. Terr. Laws 1871, 6th assy./ pp. 53-54
- ↑ 13.0 13.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Ariz. Terr. Laws 1875, 8th assy./ pp. 19-20
- ↑ Ariz. Terr. Laws 1877, 9th assy./ pp. 108-109
- This page was last modified on 4 March 2014, at 21:41.
- This page has been accessed 3,896 times.