Ritchie County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to West Virginia go toRitchie County

Guide to Ritchie County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records

Ritchie County, West Virginia
Map of West Virginia highlighting Ritchie County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Founded February 18, 1843
County Seat Harrisville
Ritchie County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Ritchie County Courthouse
115 East Main Street
Room 201
Harrisville, WV 26362
Phone 304-643-2164


County Courthouse

  • County Clerk has birth, marriage, death probate, land, military records from 1853
  • Circuit Court Clerk has divorce records
  • Magisterial Court has court records[1]


Parent County

1843--Ritchie County was created 18 February 1843 from Wood, Harrison and Lewis Counties.
County seat: Harrisville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties





For tips on accessing Ritchie County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.




  • [McFarland] Finley, Carmen J. "The McFarlings: From Virginia to the California Gold Rush," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):3-12; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):131-145; Vol. 44, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 2000):186-195; Vol. 44, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2000):275-292. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.


Local Histories



Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Ritchie County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ritchie County, West Virginia:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company C.
- 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A and Company C.[3]

Records and histories are available, including:


West Virgina, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991



Online Probate Records

West Virginia Will Books


Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

. Includes marriages 1843-1970 - free.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Ritchie County Historical Society
200 S Church Street
Harrisville, WV 26362


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ritchie County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 October 2015, at 16:06.
  • This page has been accessed 10,473 times.