SabaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Caribbean Gotoarrow.png The Netherlands Gotoarrow.png Saba

Guide to Saba ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Saba, View from Mt. Scenery


One theory for the island's name is that it is derived from the Arawak Indian word for "rock", which was "siba"

Getting started with Saba research

Jurisdictions

Its current major settlements include:

  • The Bottom
  • Windwardside
  • Hell's Gate and
  • St. Johns.

Research Tools

Featured Content

Did you know?

Saba is home to the Saba University School of Medicine, which was established by American expatriates in coordination with the Netherlands government. The school adds over 300 residents when classes are in session, and it is the prime educational attraction. A.M. Edwards Medical Center is the major provider of healthcare for local residents.

Help Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:

News and Events

Bonaire and Saba opt for the U.S. dollar as the new official currency as the islands move forward with a new state structure and closer ties to Holland. The sister island of Bonaire has also chosen the U.S. Dollar as its official currency. Read more...

Topics
Title
  • (your bullet)



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 21:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,248 times.