Saline County, ArkansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Saline County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Saline County, Arkansas|
Location in the state of Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
|Founded||November 2, 1835|
|Address|| Saline County Courthouse|
215 North Main Ste 9;
Benton, AR 72015
Saline County Courthouse
215 North Main Ste 9;
Benton, AR 72015
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1836 and land records from 1871.
| width="16.6%" align="center" | 1836
- 1835--Saline County was created 2 November 1835 from Pulaski and Hempstead Counties. County seat: Benton 
For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Saline County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture 
- Maps of Arkansas (1813-1925)
- Family Maps of Saline County, Arkansas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Saline County on page 191.]
Regiments. Service men in Saline County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Saline County, Arkansas:
- - 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- - 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- - 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company C
- - 6th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company H
- - 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- - 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union), Companies A, C, and L
Finding More Arkansas Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Saline County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch. Do a Saline County, Arkansas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see, FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Fayetteville Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Fayetteville Daily Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Daily Fayetteville Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Northwest Arkansas Times at Ancestry.com ($)
- Courier Times at Ancestry.com ($)
Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.
- Probate Records 1836-1955 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
- Includes Administration bonds 1850-1862; Administration bonds and letters 1870-1904; Administration records index 1862-1870; County Court records 1836-1848; Dockets 1839-1891; Executor records 1862-1951; Guardian bonds and letters 1861-1922; Probate records 1836-1955; Wills 1842-1861.
Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records
- 1836-1951 - Saline County Marriage Books [A]-Z and 1-38 Index 1836-1951 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1836-1921 - Saline County Marriage Index 1836-1921 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Saline County, AR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Arkansas Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Arkansas Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Saline Co. AR Genealogy page
USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Saline County, Arkansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 20 March 2014, at 11:55.
- This page has been accessed 4,162 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Give feedback on our new look! Tell us what you like, and what you would do differently.Give Feedback