San Luis Obispo County, CaliforniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to San Luis Obispo County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|San Luis Obispo County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|County Seat||San Lupis Obispo|
|Address|| San Luis Obispo County Courthouse|
1144 Monterey St Suite C
San Luis Obispo, CA 93408
San Luis Obispo County Website
San Luis Obispo County Courthouse
1144 Monterey St Suite C
San Luis Obispo, CA 93408
County Clerk Recorder has birth records from 1873,
marriage and death records from 1850 and land records from 1842
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records
18 February 1850: San Luis Obispo was created as an original county. County seat: San Luis Obispo 
"Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For tips on accessing San Luis Obispo County, California census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for San Luis Obispo County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Military History and Records
Regiments. Service men in San Luis Obispo County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in San Luis Obispo County, California:
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Luis Obispo County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Luis Obiso - Probate records.
Archives, Libraries and Museums
San Luis Obispo Genealogical Library
San Luis Obispo Public Library
995 Palm Street
San Luis Obispo, California
Librarian - Martha Graham
Arroyo Grande Genealogical Library
Arroyo Grande Public Library
South County Refional Center
800 W. Branch Street
Arroyo Grande, California
Librarian - Carolyn Baker
Mailing address for the libraries:
P.O. Box 4
Atascadero, CA 93423-0004
(Mailed enquiries must include an SASE. We cannot respond to queries that do not include a stamped return envelope.)
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Atascadero California Family History Center
- San Luis Obispo California Family History Center
San Luis Obispo County Genealogical Society
Independent Order of Odd Fellows (IOOF) Hall
520 Dana Street
San Luis Obispo, CA
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder.
- San Luis Obispo County CAGenWeb
- San Luis Obispo County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Family History Library Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Luis County, California. Page 87 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 1 March 2014, at 02:41.
- This page has been accessed 4,349 times.