Sarasota County, FloridaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sarasota County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sarasota County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||May 14, 1921|
Sarasota County's civil records start the following years:
Sarasota County Courthouse
2000 Main St;
Sarasota, FL 34237
Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage, probate, court and land records from 1921 and divorce records from 1945.
County Health Department has birth and death records.
Places / Localities
- Cemeteries of Sarasota County Florida - A Record of Births, Deaths, and Burials - via the Genealogical Society of Sarasota; online version of book published in 1992 with transcriptions from all cemeteries in the county
- Lemon Bay Historical Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Miakka Cemetery ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pioneer Whitaker ~ transcription ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Florida Tombstone Transcription Project - USGenWeb
- Interment.net - Florida cemetery records by County
For tips on accessing Sarasota County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
- 1783 Spanish Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Federal Census Information from National Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Florida Churches ~ Church Angel
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Sarasota County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Sarasota County Military Records ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions - Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sarasota County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Florida Obituaries - Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project
Probate records are held by the Sarasota County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Sarasota County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.
Societies and Libraries
- Florida State Historical Societies - Listing by County
- Sarasota County Public Libraries
- "Twin Lakes Park, 6700 Clark Road"
- Sarasota, FL 34241
- Phone: (941) 861-9852
- "Twin Lakes Park, 6700 Clark Road"
Family History Centers
- Sarasota County, FLGenWeb - part of the USGenWeb project
- State of Florida
- Family History Library Catalog
- Sarasota County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Sarasota County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sarasota County, Florida Page 137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 4 March 2014, at 01:49.
- This page has been accessed 4,019 times.