Silver Bow County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Silver Bow County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Silver Bow County, Montana|
Location of Montana in the U.S.
|Founded||February 16, 1881|
|Address|| Silver Bow County Courthouse|
155 W Granite Street
Butte, MT 59701
Silver Bow County Website
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- Parent County: created 16 February 1881 from Deer Lodge. Land was again added from from Deer Lodge in 1917.
- County seat: Butte 
- Neighboring Counties: Beaverhead | Deer Lodge | Jefferson | Madison
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Butte Dist
- Records of Gold Hill Lutheran Church, Butte, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Silver Bow County, Montana. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- See an interactive map of Silver Bow County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
Naturalization and Citizenship
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Butte and Helena newspapers. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Silver Bow County, Montana newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Siver Bow - Probate records.
County Clerk and recorder have birth and death records from 1890, land records from 1881 and military discharge records from 1932; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records
Family History Centers
Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.
- Western States Marriage Index includes marriages from 1881-1914
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 418.
- This page was last modified on 26 February 2014, at 02:20.
- This page has been accessed 4,242 times.