St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch HawEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw

London St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw
Londonstmarywoolnothlombard.jpg
St Mary Woolnoth
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for St Mary Woolchurch beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639-40; 1665-66; 1801; Separate records exist for St Mary Woolchurch beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London; Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stmarywoolchurchhawsite.JPG
"St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw, the church of, stands at the northeast corner of Sherbourne Lane, Lombard Street. Its addition of Woolnoth is derived from being neath (since, by corruption, noth) or nigh to the Woolstaple. The ancient church was of some antiquity, as John de Norton is mentioned as being rector in 1335. From various circumstances, suchas the discovery of tusks and bones of animanls, remains of tesselated pavements, metal vessels, part of an aquaduct, and other Roman exviae, it has been surmised, that an ancient temple, probably that of Concord, stood upon its site. It was damaged at the time of the great fire of 1666, and was sufficiently repaired to last until the act passed in Queen Anne's reign to build fifty new churches, when the old church was taken down, and the present handsome substantial edifice built in its stead. The united parishes are a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London and in the patronage of the King, and J. Thornton, alternately."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Woolnoth Parish united with St Mary Woolchurch Parish.[2]

1848 parish description
St. Mary Woolnoth, with St. Mary Woolchurch are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and J. Thornton, Esq., alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

St Mary Woolchurch Haw Parish was part of Walbrook Ward, while St Mary Woolnoth Parish was part of Langbourn Ward. The church of St Mary Woolchurch Haw has been demolished.

Resources

Church records

St Mary Woolchurch Haw Parish

Online St Mary Woolchurch Haw Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1559
1558
Images
1559-1665 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1889 Ancestry[5] 1814-1837 Ancestry[6] 1813-1848 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1558-1699
1760-1812
FamilySearch[8] 1559-1837 FindMyPast[9] 1540-1760 FindMyPast[10]
1558-1699 GoogleBooks[11] 1559-1666

FamilySearch[12]

1558-1666 GoogleBooks[11]
1558-1699 InternetArchive[11] 1559-1666 GoogleBooks[11] 1558-1666 InternetArchive[11]
1558-1699 InternetArchive[11] 1559-1666 InternetArchive[11] 1558-1666 InternetArchive[11]
1558-1699 TheGenealogist[13] 1559-1666 InternetArchive[11] 1558-1666 InternetArchive[11]
1558-1699 InternetArchive[11] 1559-1666 TheGenealogist[13] 1558-1666 TheGenealogist[13]
    1559-1666 InternetArchive[11] 1813-1848 FindMyPast[14]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[15] 1813-1848 BritishOrigins[16]
    1813-1837 BritishOrigins[17]    

St Mary Woolnoth Parish

Online St Mary Woolnoth Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1814 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1754-1921 Ancestry[6] 1813-1852 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1538-1830 FamilySearch[18] 1538-1837 FindMyPast[9] 1292-1760 FindMyPast[10]
1538-1760 GoogleBooks[11] 1538-1885

FamilySearch[19]

1538-1760 GoogleBooks[11]
1538-1760 InternetArchive[11] 1538-1754 InternetArchive[11] 1538-1760 InternetArchive[11]
1538-1760 InternetArchive[11] 1538-1754 InternetArchive[11] 1538-1760 InternetArchive[11]
1538-1760 InternetArchive[11] 1538-1754 InternetArchive[11] 1538-1760 InternetArchive[11]
1538-1760 TheGenealogist[13] 1538-1754 TheGenealogist[13] 1538-1760 TheGenealogist[13]
    1538-1754 GoogleBooks[11] 1813-1852 FindMyPast[14]
    1754-1837 BritishOrigins[17] 1813-1852 BritishOrigins[16]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[15]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census and Inhabitants Lists

Londonstmarywoolnothlombardstreet.jpg

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/147); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mary Woolnoth, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/143); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/485); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Mary Woolnoth, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/490); copy: FHL Film 2228702. Is St Mary, Fenchurch Street (also in Langbourn Ward) another name for St Mary Woolnoth?

1625 Subsidy

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/545); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/564); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St. Mary Woolchurch, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 3 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St. Mary Woolnoth, Langbourn Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/565 Part 3 of 3); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1638 Inhabitants List

1641 Subsidy

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/568); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1645 Subsidy

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/601); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1646 Subsidy

  • St Mary Woolchurch, Walbrook Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/581); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

1811 Census

The 1811 Census exists for both places.[20]

1821 Census

The 1821 Census exists for both places.[20]

1831 Census

The 1831 Census exists for both places.[20]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Mary Woolnoth fell under the jurisdiction of the Archdeaconry Court of London. St Mary Woolchurch Haw fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. In practice, many residents of St Mary Woolnoth left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[21] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

Transcripts of early St Mary Woolnoth with St Mary Woolchurch Haw tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[22]

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Mary Woolchurch Haw Parish the unique surname Woolchurch.[23]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Woolchurch Haw
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Woolnoth

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Woolchurch Haw in the City of London | St Mary Woolnoth in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Woolchurch Haw in the City of London | St Mary Woolnoth in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Woolchurch Haw in the City of London | St Mary Woolnoth in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Woolchurch Haw in the City of London | St Mary Woolnoth in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batches P001661, C001662, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  9. 9.0 9.1 "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  10. 10.0 10.1 "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  11. 11.00 11.01 11.02 11.03 11.04 11.05 11.06 11.07 11.08 11.09 11.10 11.11 11.12 11.13 11.14 11.15 11.16 11.17 11.18 11.19 11.20 11.21 11.22 11.23 James Mark Saurin Brooke and A.W. Cornelius Hallen, The Transcript of the Registers of the United Parishes of S. Mary Woolnoth and S. Mary Woolchurch Haw, in the City of London, from Their Commencement 1538 to 1760. To which is Prefixed a Short Account of Both Parishes, List of Rectors and Churchwardens, Chantries, etc. Together with Some Interesting Extracts from the Churchwardens' Accounts (London: Bowles and Sons, 1886).
  12. Batch M001661, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 13.3 13.4 13.5 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  14. 14.0 14.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. 16.0 16.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  17. 17.0 17.1 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  18. Batches C001652-C001653, P001651, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  19. Batches M001651; M001652, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts (1538-1754) and parish registers.
  20. 20.0 20.1 20.2 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71, 73.
  21. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  22. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  23. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 5,171 times.