Tarleton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Tarleton, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tarleton, Lancashire
Tarleton Holy Trinity Lancashire.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Leyland
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ormskirk PLU
Registration District Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1723
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leyland
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Tarleton was formerly a chapel of ease but became an ecclesiastical parish in the county of Lancashire by 1719, formed from the Parish of Croston, Lancashire.


The village's name is sometimes said to be derived from an early Viking settlement known as Jarle's Town. The more likely derivation is from the Norse name Tharaldr, to which tun has been added. The early form is already "Tarleton", ca. 1200 and in the Feet of Fines, 1298. Tarleton is also a civil parish within the West Lancashire District. It is currently within the Parliamentary Constituency of South Ribble. Recently, it has been significantly built up with new housing developments, but it is still a relatively quiet rural village.
Tarleton Old Church is a picturesque building, standing in its large churchyard beside the main road. Built in brick in 1717, the small tower was heightened in stone, with a pretty domed bell-cote above, in 1824, and the porch and vestry were then added at the west end. A fine example of an early Georgian chapel, it retains many original fittings in its simple interior: box pews at the east end, open benches at the west, stone flagged floors, a reading desk and a west gallery that extends along the south wall. The large round-headed windows clearly lit the building.

St Mary's, Tarleton Lancashire.jpg

TARLETON St Mary; 1719, a parish,inthe union of Ormskirk, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 8½ miles north by east from Ormskirk. The parish wasformerly a chapelry in the parish of Croston. The church, consecrated in 1719.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Tarleton Holy Trinity and St. Mary parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
TARLETON HOLY TRINITY AND ST MARY PARISH (1719) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1722-1727, 1820-1854 1822-1837 None
LOPC 1719-1900 1720-1753, 1822-1909 1720-1883
LBMD 1837-1954 1837-1953 1837-1954
FMP None 1822-1837 None
AC None None None
FREG None None None
Original Records

The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.

The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Tarleton Holy Trinity and St. Mary parish for the years 1820-1854. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Catholic

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306911.


Poor Law Unions

Ormskirk Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 300-303. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 3,789 times.