Taylor County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Taylor County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Taylor County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||January 19, 1844|
|Address|| Taylor County Courthouse|
214 W Main Street
Grafton, WV 26354-1387
- County Clerk has birth, marriage, death probate and land records from 1853
- Land records from 1853
- Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and court records
Taylor County, West Virginia was created on 19 January 1844 from parts of Barbour, Marion, and Harrison Counties in Virginia. Taylor County remained part of Virginia until West Virginia was created as a state on 20 June 1863. The county seat is in Grafton, but was originally at Cross Roads. Cross Roads was renamed Williamsport 1 January 1801 and was again renamed on 23 January 1845 as Pruntytown.
West Virginia became a state during the Civil War. Most of the records that were held in Virginia before West Virginia was admitted to the Union were transferred to West Virginia upon statehood, but some of the records from before 1863 may still be found in Virginia. The Tygart Valley River moves through Taylor County, and is the main waterway that provided sustenance to the farmers and other laborers in the County. Taylor County is historically the home of miners and freed former slaves. Taylor County is proudly the home of Mother’s Day founder Anna Jarvis.
- A history of all American wars in which Taylor County, West Virginia and her men had a part from the Revolution to World War II
- A History of Taylor County, West VirginiaIncludes indexes after the topical histories and the family histories. Contains a history of the county and a large section of family histories. Includes roster of the dead at Grafton National Cemetery and wartime deaths of Taylor County serviceman. Taylor County Historical and Genealogical Society (Grafton, West Virginia)
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
○ Find-A-Grave for Taylor County
○ GNIS Search Results
○ The Political Graveyard
○ West Virginia Cemetery Preservation Association, Inc.
○ Cemetery inscriptions and readings on film for 19 cemeteries in Taylor County: ○FHL catalog
○Smith Cemetery (Baptist) Pruntytown, Taylor County, West Virginia ○Grafton National Cemetery, 1867-2010 at Ancestry.com ($)
For tips on accessing Taylor County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Regiments. Service men in Taylor County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Taylor County, West Virginia:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company C.
- - 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company A (Letcher Guard), Captain George W. Hansbrough's Company.
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at [https:/familysearch.org/ FamilySearch] — index and images
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.
. Includes marriages 1853-1970 - free.
- West Virginia Division of Culture and History search Birth Records: Birth Records
- West Virginia, Births Index, 1853-1969, available on Ancestry.com Ancestry.com
- West Virginia Division of Culture and History search Marriage Records: http://www.wvculture.org/vrr/va_mcsearch.aspx
- West Virginia Marriage Records, 1863-1900, available on Ancestry.com (http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=4484)
- West Virginia Marriages Index, 1785-1971, available on Ancestry.com (http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=2538)
- 1853-1863 - Virginia Marriages 1853-1863 (Ancestry) ($).
- Marriage, Taylor County, West Virginia Includes surname index. Marriage register, 1853-1878; register of Negro marriages, 1866-1877 and marriage licenses, 1858-1884
- West Virginia Division of Culture and History search Death Records: http://www.wvculture.org/vrr/va_dcsearch.aspx
- West Virginia, Deaths Index, 1853-1973, available on Ancestry.com (http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=2568)
- West Virginia Cemetery Readings, 1941, available on Ancestry.com (http://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=4266)
Societies and Libraries
Taylor County Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc;
P O Box 522
Grafton, WV 26354
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [https://familysearch.org/ask/help#localResource online FHC director for a nearby family history center.
- Taylor County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List for West Virginia
Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
- This page was last modified on 5 October 2015, at 16:12.
- This page has been accessed 8,883 times.