Tooele County, UtahEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Utah go toTooele County

Guide to Tooele County, Utah genealogy. Birth records, marriage and death records, cemeteries, census, church records, probate records, and obituaries—resources to find parents and family history since 1852, when the county was formed.
Utah Miners, Tooele County, Utah

Beehive.jpg Utah
Online Records




Quick start:


Tooele County, Utah
Map
Map of Utah highlighting Tooele County
Location in the state of Utah
Facts
Founded March 3, 1852
County Seat Tooele
Courthouse
Named for: [1]
Adopt-a-wiki page
Utah GA Logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Utah Genealogical Association
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Facts

County Courthouse

Tooele County Courthouse
47 South Main Street
Tooele, Ut 84074
Phone: 435-843-3140

County Clerk has birth and death records 1897-1905 and marriage records from 1887.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records.
County Recorder has land records.[1]

Dates for major county records[2]
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Land
Probate
1898-present 1887-present 1898-present 1850, 1851... 1852-present 1870-present
For earlier dates, try...Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | Parent counties

Parent Counties

Tooele County, Utah was created March 3, 1852 as an original county from Utah Territory lands.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Utah County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Utah County Boundary Maps" (1849-1960) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

  • Boundary changes timeline for Tooele County, Utah from "UT: Index of Counties," Newberry Library's Utah Atlas of Historical County Boundaries.

Neighboring Counties

Tooele County, Utah is surrounded by: Box Elder | Davis | Juab | Salt Lake | Utah | Weber | Nevada counties: Elko | White Pine
Tooele CountyJuab CountyBox Elder CountyWeber CountyDavis CountySalt Lake CountyUtah CountyElkoWhite PineTooele4.JPG


Resources

The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Tooele County, Utah entries with names, images, or information.

Bible Records

The term "Bible records" refers to the practice of keeping family dates and events in a family Bible. This was a common practice in many European countries and carried over to America. Many of these family Bible records are still in existence and preserved by the descendants of the immigrants. In some cases these family Bibles have found their way into libraries and other repositories.

For an explanation of how to find Bible records and for helpful links see Utah Bible Records. See also United States Bible Records.

Biography

  • Biographies(microfilmed originals or published transcripts) are listed in the FamilySearch Library Catalog for Tooele County, Utah. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see public libraries.

Business Records and Commerce

See United States Business Records
See also Utah Business Records

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information. The spouse and children who died young are frequently buried nearby.

More than tombstone inscriptions, cemetery records include sextons (caretakers) records and interment (burial) records, each with slightly different information. See Utah Cemeteries.

  • Published transcripts of cemetery records are listed in the FamilySearch Library Catalog at the town level (space, then select the town) or the county level (select Cemeteries).
State and national resources for Tooele County, Utah cemeteries
Online Transcripts
(names) or Images
Published Grave
Transcripts
Lists of Cemeteries
in the County
FindAGrave FamilySearch Library (bullet above) FindAGrave
Interment.net Early Church Info File USGenWeb Tombstone Project
Utah Cemeteries and Burial Database (Select the county) WorldCat UTGenWeb Cemeteries
Utah Gravestones Utah Periodicals Epodunk
UTGenWeb Cemeteries Utah Hometown Locator Cemeteries
Billion Graves Utah Cemeteries Search (Select the county)
Linkpendium Genealogy Trails
Veterans to 1966
See Utah Cemeteries for details about each site.

Compendium Resources for Tooele Cemeteries


Individual cemeteries

  • Chief Green Jacket Grave, Vernon BillionGraves
  • Iosepa Cemetery BillionGraves. This cemetery is some distance from any town, and may have been associated with a settlement by the same name. It is in the next valley west of Tooele Valley, where most of today's popuation is. To reach it, you have to use Skull Valley Road or State Highway U-196. However, that number may not be on signs, as this road was assigned to get a number by the state legislature during a bitter legal dispute over a proposed nuclear waste repository somewhat further south of this cemetery's location in the early 2000s, and hence not even the freeway exit sign off I-80 may have this number on it.
  • Stockton Cemetery, Stockton BillionGraves
  • Tooele City Cemetery, Tooele BillionGraves.
  • Utah, State Archives a collection digitized by FamilySearch (free), includes a 1855-1990 cemetery/burial card index of the Grantsville City Cemetery. Information on these alphabatical-by-surname cards reflects access to sexton records. Also available is Grantsville, Tooele County, Utah Cemetery, 1846-1999 Ancestry.com ($) Cemetery information was cross-referenced with records at the Grantsville City records office.

Census

Census records 1850 and later list names, ages, and places of birth (state or nation) for everyone in the household. Censuses locate the family and have other clues to find more records about them.

  • See Utah Census for online indexes and images of US federal censuses. of: 1852, 1856, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940.
  • See statewide printed indexes, including 1856.


USGenWeb Archives of Tooele County, Utah provides the 1850 census records

Churches and Religious Groups

The information given in church records depends upon the practices of each religious group. Most include the names of members, often with ages and birth places. Several give birth, christening, or blessing dates for infants. See Utah Church Records for details about various denominations.

  • Church records (microfilmed originals or published transcripts) are listed for Tooele County, Utah at the town level (space, then select a town) or county level (select Church topics) in the FamilySearch Library Catalog.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (the Mormons)

Historically, most people in Utah were Mormons. Their records are, therefore, very important for early Utah research. For additional information, see Tracing LDS Ancestors and Utah Church Records.

Click a church unit name in the chart below for its history, boundaries, and availability of records, which are often in microfilm format

(Section In process. Want to help?)
Tooele County, Utah guide to history and records of LDS wards and branches

Stake(s): Tooele Stake, Utah

Places: Grantsville · Lake Point · Ophir · Stockton · Tooele · Vernon ·

____________________

Court Records

Many of your ancestors may be found in court records as defendants, plaintiffs, witnesses, or jurors. Court records can establish family relationships and places of residence, occupations, and other family history information. See Utah Court Records for the various courts through the years.

For specialized court records, see Divorce  · Guardianship  · Land  · Naturalization  · Probate

Directories

See Utah Directories

  • Directories (microfilmed originals or published transcripts) are listed in the FamilySearch Library Catalog for Tooele County, Utah. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see public libraries.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Other Groups

Funeral Homes

Tate Mortuary[3]
110 South Main
Tooele, UT 84074
Phone: 435-882-0676
Fax: 435-882-7814

Gazetteers

Genealogy

A FamilySearch Community Tree is available for this place.

Guardianship

Guardianship of orphans or adults unable to manage their own affairs were handled by the probate and the Federal District courts. See Utah Court Records.

History

Interesting facts
This county was originally spelled "Tuilla" and is still pronounced that way by locals.

Wendover Air Force Base, now closed, was the training base of the Enola Gay crew which dropped the first atomic weapon in 1945.
History Timeline
  • Boundary changes timeline for Tooele County, Utah from "UT: Index of Counties," Newberry Library's Utah Atlas of Historical County Boundaries.

NOTE: Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Wikipedia for Tooele County.

  • 1849. Mormons established the first white settlement in the area.
  • 1850 January. Tooele County formed as one of six original counties in Deseret, later called Utah Territory
  • 1850's–1860's. Troubles between white settlers and Goshute Indians.
  • 1852. March 3 - Tooele County was created as an original county.
  • 1852. By this year, Grantsville, Batesville, and Pine Canyon (later called Lincoln) were settled by Mormons.
  • 1855. Richville named as county seat.
  • 1861. Territory of Nevada created, establishing the permanent western border of Tooele County.
  • 1861. County seat moved to Tooele City.
  • 1864. Gold, silver, lead, and zinc were discovered in Tooele County, spurring an influx of non-Mormons to the area.
  • Before 1874. The county courthouse was built.
  • 1874–1879. The Republic of Tooele was established by non-Mormon politicians. Only taxpayers were allowed to vote, and there were complaints of fraud. The recorder's office was even jeopardized!
  • 1876. Territorial legislature passed a bill requiring voter registration and women's suffrage. Tooele County and it's political problems earlier were likely the spur to this law.

Land and Property

Land records (especially deeds) often give the name of a spouse, heir, other relatives, or other clues for further research. They often have other clues for further research, such as witnesses or the other parties who may be relatives or in-laws. See Utah Land and Property for more.

  • County Recorder's Office: check deeds, file mining claims, get assistance in finding ownership of a particular property, and obtain copies of county plat maps. This office has county plat records dating back to 1878, prior records having been destroyed in a fire.

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Tooele County, Utah for emigrant settlers included:

Military

Minorities - History

Native Races - Genealogy

Naturalization and Citizenship

Declarations of Intent before 1906 often include the nation of origin, his* foreign and "Americanized" names, residence, and date of arrival. See Utah Naturalization and Citizenship for more information.    (*Women were not naturalized until 1922 in the United States.)

  • Utah, State Archives Records, 1848-2001, a FamilySearch digital collection, contains certificates of naturalization, 1878-1896 and 1896-1933; declaration of intentions 1874-1896 and a1904-1906; petition and record 1907-1942.

Newspapers

Small town newspapers contain obituaries, birth or death notices, community news (such as the visit of someone's relatives), legal notices and provide historical content. See Utah newspapers for tips, resources, and details.

Obituaries

Obituaries may mention birth, marriage, spouse, parents, and living family members. See Utah Obituaries for state level compendiums and United States Obituaries for tips and insights regarding this record type.

Obituaries for residents may be found in:

Officials and Employees

Periodicals

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

In Utah, such records may be difficult to find. Try records of the church they may have attended. Realize, however, that such records may have not been preserved, and would not be in the typical records of membership.

It is possible there were records kept by civilian authorities. Ask town or county officials and local librarians and the State Archives. Also try National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (online).


Population

Probate Records

Probate cases include court actions regarding property and estates of individuals who have died. Records may locate relatives, provide death dates, and identify property. See Utah Probate Records for more information.

Public Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Utah Vital Records or download an application for Utah Birth CertificateMarriage or Divorce CertificateDeath Certificate Applications to mail.

Birth
Below are the best sources to find birth information (dates and places of birth and names of parents) for Tooele County, Utah. Also available: How to Find Birth Information in Utah.
Follow the suggestions under the year span that matches when your ancestor was born:
Birth before 1852
Tooele County, Utah was formed on 3 March 1852.
      If your records show the person was born here before the county was formed,
      search parent counties
Birth 1852 - 1897
No birth records were created for Tooele County, Utah by either by county or state civil authorities in this time period.
Follow these suggestions to find birth information for this time period:
Birth 1898 - present
County clerks became responsible for recording births beginning in 1898.[8] In 1905, the State Department of Health assumed responsibility and required the counties to forward copies of the records to them.



Records open to the public
Birth records created more than 100 years ago[9] are open to the public.
Restricted records
Access to official birth records within 100 years is restricted to those who meet certain requirements. Order copies:
  • Office of Vital Records and Statistics, 288 North 1460 West, Salt Lake City, Utah, Phone: (801) 538-6105. How to order online, by mail, or in person.
____________________
Marriage


Divorce

Divorce records give the names of the parties and may give the date and place of their marriage. See Utah Vital Records for excellent information.

Death

Utah Death Certificates 1904 - 1956 -A free internet access to the 1904-1956 death certificates can be viewed on the Familysearch.org/. Utah requires a death certificate before a burial is completed. A death certificate may contain information as to the name of the deceased, date of death, and place of death, as well as the age, birthdate, parents, gender, marital status, spouse and place of residence. More infomation at Utah Death Certificates (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Utah State Burial Index for death before 1904

Tooele Genweb site has further information on Births, Marriages, Deaths record sources.

Death Record Substitutes

  • 1870 - U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 at Ancestry ($). Includes 1870 Tooele County, Utah mortality schedule.

Voting Registers

Websites

Links to indexes or images of records:

Links to Tooele County, Utah collections:

Sites that gather links to the Internet

  • Linkpendium
  • CyndisList

Archives, Libraries, etc.

Resources for Tooele County, Utah are available in repositories (such as libraries and archives) at all levels: the town, the county, the state (including universities), and the nation.

Check websites and catalogs of archives and libraries for items for this county. Examples: Tooele County, Utah items in FamilySearch Library (Utah) or Allen County Public Library (Indiana). When you find items you'd like to access, see Get a Copy

See these headings for Tooele County, Utah details: Courthouse · FamilySearch Centers · Libraries · Societies

Courthouse

www.co.tooele.ut.us/
County Clerk, 47 South Main
Tooele, UT 84074
Telephone: (435) 843-3140
Fax: (435) 882-7317

County seat: Tooele

FamilySearch Centers



Libraries

Local public libraries usually have histories, genealogies, indexes of cemeteries, copies of local newspapers, or other records for the area they serve. Many libraries in Utah have an area dedicated to local collections and manuscripts.

See also Utah Public Library Directory, which provides links to library web pages, addresses, phone numbers, hours, and maps. Does not mention holdings.

Societies

See also a List of Utah Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Towns and Communities

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tooele, Utah Page 688 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 676-677. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory.(Youngstown, OH: Nomis Publications, Inc., c2009,941.
  4. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
  7. "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 13 September 2011).
  8. Utah State Archives, Birth Records guide, accessed 28 July 2012.)
  9. State Department of Health Birth, Marriage, and Death Certificates page. Accessed 7/31/2012
  10. "Tooele County, Utah: Family History and Genealogy, Census, Birth, Marriage, Death Vital Records and More," Linkpendium, http://www.linkpendium.com/genealogy/USA/UT/Tooele/, accessed 1 February 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 April 2014, at 18:53.
  • This page has been accessed 22,185 times.