Tuolumne County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to California go to Tuolumne County

Guide to Tuolumne County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Tuolumne County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Tuolumne County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 18, 1850
County Seat Sonora
Courthouse
Address Tuolumne County Courthouse
2 S Green Street
Sonora, CA 95370-4679
Phone: 209.533.5570
Tuolumne County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk Recorder has birth records from 1858
marriage records from 1850, death records from 1859
burial records from 1916  divorce, probate, court and land  from 1850 and
old newspapers 1862-1948[1]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Tuolumne County, California

Parent County

18 February 1850: Tuolumne County was created as an original county. County seat: Sonora [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Tuolumne County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Tuolumne County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Catuolumne.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Tuolumne County, California for emigrant settlers included:[3][4]

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Tuolumne County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Tuolumne - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

The official records of Tuolumne County, one of California's 27 original counties, are located in the Carlo M. De Ferrari Archive. The building was designed in 1997 by Cooper Kessel, an East Sonora architect and built by Barham Industrial Constructors, Inc. in 1999.  It was dedicated for public use on December 21, 1999, and officially opened on June 8, 2001

Address:  490 Greenley Rd., Sonora, Ca 95370

Phone: 209 536-1163

Email Contacts:  cdyer@co.tuolumne.ca.us   or www.tuolumnecounty.ca.gov

Hours:  By appointment, Monday through Friday

The archive was named in honor of Carlo M. De Ferrari, a third generation Tuolumne County native son and "Official Historian of Tuolumne County," a title bestowed in 1972 by the Tuolumne County Board of Supervisors in reocognition of his extensive knowledge of local history and his dedication to its preservation. 

The county archivist oversees general administration of the archive.  All records accepted for preservation in the archive must have a historical connection to official county governmental business. 

Over 250,000 records from this collection have been entered into the Archive's database for the public to access and query.  The public can access the collection via the Tuolumne County's website at the following portal.  

Carlo M. De Ferrari Archive (Tuolumne County Archive) 

To begin searching the archives, click the Archive Index button.
  The User Id for the public is Research; no Password is needed.

    Click the Enter button, then click Archives from the drop down list.

       Press Go.

Tuolumne County Library Website

The current listing of books is available via the internet on the Tuolumne County Library web page. The books are available for researchers at the archive as reference material.

County Courthouse

Family History Centers

Societies

The Tuolumne County Historical Society, established in 1956, is home to the Tuolumne County Museum, Tuolumne County Historical Society and the Tuolumne County Genealogical Society.

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tuolumne County, California. Page 88At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 March 2014, at 00:36.
  • This page has been accessed 4,998 times.