U.S. Virgin Islands Archives and LibrariesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|This U.S. Virgin Islands-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.|
New York City
National Archives at New York City (Serves the U.S. Virgin Islands)
201 Varick Street 12th Floor
New York, NY 10014
(Entrance on Houston Street, between Varick and Hudson)
Telephone: Toll-free 866-840-1752 or 212-401-1620
The National Archives—Northeast Region has records created by federal agencies in New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The archives has naturalization records, internal revenue service records, customs lists, and records of the U.S. District Court of Appeals. The archives also has microfilms of all available federal census records, many naturalization records, court records, passenger lists for New York City and other ports. The National Archives has announced the records of this branch will be moved to the Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House at One Bowling Green in New York City. The new home will be located in the same building as the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.
Saint Thomas Island
Caribbean Genealogy Library
Al Cohen Plaza, Raphune Hill, St Thomas
(Open 2 pm to 5 pm Wed, Thurs and Saturday, call or e-mail to verify)
The Caribbean Genealogy Library has books and microform collection as well as computers for patron use. Family Search rental films may be sent here for local use.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2013, at 20:20.
- This page has been accessed 1,935 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News