Union County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  North Carolina  go to  Union County

Guide to Union County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Union County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Union County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1842
County Seat Monroe
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Union Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Union County Courthouse.jpg

Union County Courthouse
Physical Address
400 North Main Street
Monroe, NC 28112

Mailing Address
PO Box 5038
Monroe, NC 28111-5038
(704) 296-4600

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records and burial records Clerk Court has divorce, probate, military court naturalization
records and land records[1]

History

Union County was established in 1842 from parts of Mecklenburg and Anson counties, and named "Union" as a compromise to settle a dispute between local Whigs and Democrats over whether the new county should be named "Clay" or "Jackson." Both of those names were subsequently used for new counties in the extreme southwestern part of the state.

Mecklenburg County and the large city of Charlotte are to the northwest. Charlotte's suburban areas include areas of Union County.

Anson County was one of the largest counties in NC at one time, and its territory covered the southwest quadrant of the state.

Monroe is the county seat for Union County. Other cities and towns are: Fairview, Hemby Bridge, Indian Trail, Lake Park, Marshville, Marvin, Mineral Springs, Stallings, Unionville, Waxhaw, Weddington, Wesley Chapel, and Wingate .

Townships are Goose Creek, Jackson, Marshville, Monroe, New Salem, Vance, Buford, Lanes Creek, Sandy Ridge.

Parent County

1842--Union County was created from Anson and Mecklenburg Counties.
County seat: Monroe [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Some of the early records are missing. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncunion.png

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Union County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church

Court

Land

The Union County Register of Deeds has land records starting from 1842. Included are deeds, deeds of trust, plats and miscellaneous documents related to real estate.  There office is:

Register of Deeds
500 N. Main St., 2nd Floor
Monroe, NC 28111


The Registry maintains a database for an online Deed Search for records from 1842 - 2004:

Union County Deeds Search

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

Newspapers

Probate

The Union County Clerk of the Superior Court has Court records from 1843 and Probate records (wills & estate records) from 1837, if they have not been transferred to the NC State Archives. Please check with the office to find out if the record you are looking for is available.

Union County Clerk of Superior Court

400 North Main Street
Monroe, NC 28112
(704) 698 -3100


TheNorth Carolina State Archives has microfilm of the Union County Record of Wills, 1842-1968, and the Cross Index to Wills, 1842-1968.  Copies of materials can be ordered from the Archives by visiting their website, however if you've never done so before, please read the following to give you some tips on what to expect and what to ask for:

Contacting the State Archives

Taxation

Vital Records

The Union County Register of Deeds has Birth and Death records starting from 1913; Marriage records start from 1842.

Contact the office as follows:

Register of Deeds
500 N. Main St., 2nd Floor
Monroe, NC 28111

Births
  • 1869-1968 - Union County Birth Index 1869-1968. Batch C752035 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages

Societies and Libraries 

The Union County Heritage Room has information on these following 2 services:

Union County Historical Society
P. O. Box 397
Monroe , NC 28111


Carolinas Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 397
Monroe , NC 28111


Union County Public Library
Has a number of online genealogy databases for researchers

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, North Carolina. Page 513 FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 March 2014, at 12:59.
  • This page has been accessed 5,804 times.