User:Batsondl/Sandbox Test 1Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Ouachita County

Guide to Ouachita County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Important Resources
 • Births
 • Marriages
 • Deaths
 • Census

 • Cemeteries     


County Facts
Organized: November 29, 1842
County seat: Camden
Courthouse: Ouachita County Courthouse
145 Jackson Street
Camden, AR 71701
Phone: 870.837.2220
Cities and Towns: See list
Parent County(s): Union[1]
Boundary Changes: See details
Record Loss: See details
Variant Spellings:
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Clark  • Columbia  • Dallas  • Nevada  • Union
See County Maps
Location Map
Ar-ouachita.png
Adoption

This page is up for adoption

Testing that the
AR Want to Help Template is below the Infobox


{{{link}}}

Contents

County Information

Ouachita County, Arkansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1914 1875 1914 1869 1876

County Courthouse

Ouachita County Courthouse
145 Jackson Street
Camden, AR 71701
Phone: 870.837.2220

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1875; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[3]

Government and Related Websites

  • County-clerk.net (unofficial site) - Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) - Provides links to County officials and public records

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Boundary Changes

  • 1842--Ouachita County was created 29 November 1842 from Union County.  County seat: Camden [1]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Cities and Towns

Select a town below for items listed in the FamilySearch Catalog:

Towns

  • Bearden
  • Camden
  • Chidester
  • East Camden
  • Louann
  • Stephens

Census Districts and Unincoporated Towns

  • Amy
  • Barham
  • Bragg City
  • Buena Vista
  • Camark
  • Cross Roads
  • Cullendale
  • Eagle Mills
  • Elliott
  • Fairview
  • Frenchport
  • Good Hope
  • Harmony Grove
  • Herbert
  • Joyce City
  • Kent
  • Kirkland
  • Lakeside
  • Lester
  • Lester Junction
  • Liberty
  • Lunet
  • Millers Bluff
  • Millville
  • Ogemaw
  • Pace City
  • Red Hill
  • Rendezvous
  • Salem
  • Sayre
  • Shumaker
  • Smead
  • Snow Hill
  • Spring Hill
  • Standard Umpstead
  • Tates Bluff
  • Troy
  • Vanduzer
  • Velie
  • Warner

History Timeline

  • 1803 - The county was already heavily settled by the time of the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1820s (late)-1830s (early) - The population of the area consisted of approximately 150 Choctaw, along with white settlers and slaves.
  • 1830s - As more white settlers came to the area, the French left, returning to New Orleans or moving farther west.
  • 1842 November 29 - Ouachita County was established.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Online Ouachita County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Ouachita County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1876-1946 County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Guardian records 1876-1911; Letters of administration 1876-1922; Letters of testamentary 1876-1946; Probate record index 1876-1880; Probate records 1880-1890; Wills 1876-1901.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on the map below for a neighboring county's wiki page.

Ouachita CountyDallas CountyClark CountyUnion CountyCalhoun CountyHot Spring CountyColumbia CountyNevada CountyCleveland CountyGrant CountyPike CountyBradley CountyLafayette CountyAROuachita.JPG


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Ouachita County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 18th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dockery's) (Confederate)
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, D, F and K

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Ouachita County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

  • Probate Records 1876-1946 County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Guardian records 1876-1911; Letters of administration 1876-1922; Letters of testamentary 1876-1946; Probate record index 1876-1880; Probate records 1880-1890; Wills 1876-1901.

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Libraries

Major catalogs for books, microfilm, or collections pertaining to Ouachita County

Museums

Societies

Websites

Sites with online indexes or images of records

  • ARGenWeb - Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions

More Ouachita County genealogy links

  • Linkpendium - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS - family history resources and government records


Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.


  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2015, at 15:41.
  • This page has been accessed 151 times.