Walsden, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Walsden, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

WALSDEN, a chapelry erected by the year 1845, and one of three pre-1851 chapels in the parochial chapelry and poor-law union of Todmorden. It stood with in the parish of Rochdale, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 5 miles northeast of Rochdale. The district church of Walsden was dedicated to St. Peter.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Walsden chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


WALSDEN ST PETER CHAPELRY (1845) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1878-1914 1848-1900 1848-1900
TODWLS 1845-1878 (part.) 1845-1878 (part.) 1845-1878 (part.)
LOPC None None None

ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes (ancient parish containing WALSDEN ST PETER Chapelry)

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Walsden and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale St Chad to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306935.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 444-449.Adapted. Date accessed: 07 October 2013 .

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:42.
  • This page has been accessed 797 times.