Walworth County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Walworth County

Guide to Walworth County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records
WI Walworth.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Walworth County Courthouse
100 W Walworth; PO Box 1001;
Elkhorn, WI 53121
Phone: 262.741.4241 

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1845,
marriage and land records from 1839, death
records from 1872, bururial records from 1969,
divorce and court records from 1850 and probate 
records from 1800’s [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Walworth County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County.  County seat: Elkhorn [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran

Heart Prairie Lutheran Church

  • Records of Heart Prairie Lutheran Church, Walworth County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Spring Prairie

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Spring Prairie, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Walworth County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Walworth County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company K
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies G and L

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 760 Walworth, Wisconsin
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 April 2014, at 22:11.
  • This page has been accessed 3,361 times.