Wirt County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Wirt County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Wirt County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||January 19, 1848|
|Address|| Wirt County Courthouse|
PO Box 53
Elizabeth, WV 26143-0053
Wirt County Website
County Clerk has birth and death since 1870
marriage records since 1870
Probate and land records from 1848
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records
See an interactive map of Wirt County boundary changes.
Places / Localities
For tips on accessing Wirt County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Regiments. Service men in Wirt County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Wirt County, West Virginia:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company D.
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company N (Night Hawk Rangers).
- - 20th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.
- - 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.
- West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
West Virginia Will Books
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. Includes marriages 1848-1861, 1863-1970 - free.
- 1854-1863 - Virginia Marriages 1854-1863 (Ancestry) ($).
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web SitesEdit our Wiki Sites
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wood County, West Virginia. Page 746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
- This page was last modified on 25 February 2014, at 20:12.
- This page has been accessed 5,399 times.