Yell County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png ArkansasGotoarrow.png Yell

Guide to Yell County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Yell County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Yell County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 5, 1840
County Seat Danville
Courthouse
Address Yell County Courthouse
PO Box 219;
Danville, AR 72833-0219
Phone: 501.495.2630

Contents

County Courthouse

Yell County Courthouse
PO Box 219;
Danville, AR 72833-0219
Phone: 501.495.2630


County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, land, and court records from 1865[1]

Beginning years for Yell County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1865 1914* 1865 1849 1858
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1840--Yell County was created 5 December 1840 from Pope and Scott Counties.  County seat: Danville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Conway  • Garland  • Logan  • Montgomery  • Perry  • Pope  • Scott  •

Perry CountyConway CountyPolk CountyScott CountyGarland CountyHot Spring CountyMontgomery CountySaline CountyYell CountyPope CountyLogan CountySebastian CountyCrawford CountyFranklin CountyJohnson CountyPope CountyARYell.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Yell County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

Maps

Military

Yell County Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Yell County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Yell County, Arkansas:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate)[4], Company H
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company K
- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dawson's) (Confederate)
- 31st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 38th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5], Companies A, C, D, E, F, H, and S

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yell County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1865-1943 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Accounts 1876-1905; Administration and guardian dockets 1866-1890; Administration bonds and letters 1865-1913; Dockets 1866-1873; Guardian bonds 1876-1913; Probate records 1858-1888; Wills 1872-1943.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes


Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 71.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, First Arkansas Confederate Mounted Rifles, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1988), p. 2. FHL book 976.7 M2a
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 March 2014, at 12:16.
  • This page has been accessed 6,212 times.