Yuma County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png Yuma County

Guide to Yuma County Arizona genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Yuma County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Yuma County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1864
County Seat Yuma
Courthouse
Address 250 West 2nd Street, Suite B
Yuma, Arizona 85364
 
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Yuma County, Arizona




Contents

Historical Facts

Yuma County, Arizona is in the far southwest corner of the state. Principal communities include Yuma and Somerton. It extended to Parker in the north until 1983 when the northern half of the county split off to form La Paz County.

Boundary Changes

  • 27 Apr 1983 - Arizona created La Paz County from the northern half of Yuma County.[12] This county named for the town of La Paz, Arizona. Look for records in La Paz and Yuma counties.

See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Some environmental damage has occurred to many of the historical registers. Mildew and mold have taken its toll on the readability of some of the books and case file contents.

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Yuma County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Yuma

Court Records

Yuma County (Arizona). County Recorder, (Main Author), Powers of attorney (Yuma County, Arizona), Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2002.

Film Notes
Note
Location
Film
Index to grantor, v. 1, 1863-1882, 1889, 1904
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 3
Index to grantor, 1865-1915, 1921, 1934, 1952
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 5
Index to grantor, 1910-1969
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 6
Index to grantee, v. 1, 1863-1881, 1889, 1904
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 4
Index to grantee, 1910-1969
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Item 7
Powers of attorney, v. C-D (p. 1-271), 1934-1945
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2320096 Items 8 - 9
Powers of attorney, v. D (cont. p. 270-end) 1945-1948
FHL US/CAN Film
FHL 2293272 Item 1


Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Yuma County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Azyuma.png

Migration

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Yuma County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Yuma - Probate records.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Yuma County Court House
168 S 2nd Ave
Yuma, Az 85364
Phone:520-329-2170

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1863 [13]

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers

Yuma Arizona
4300 W 16th St
Yuma, Yuma, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 928-782-6364

This is not a mailing address. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Genealogical Society of Yuma Arizona
P.O. Box 2905
Yuma, AZ 85366-2905

Arizona Historical Society Rio Colorado Division
240 Madison Avenue
Yuma, Arizona 85364
520-782-1841

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Birth
Marriage

695 marriages from 2 Apr 1864 to 17 Mar 1902 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index. Some of the early marriage volumes are difficult to read and the writing is hard to decipher due to environmental damage.

Death

Places

Araby Fishers Landing Kinter Palomas Tacna
Asher Fortuna Kofa Quartzite Tyson
Aztec Fortuna Foothills Laguna Roll Wellton
Blaisdell Gadsden Ligurta San Dionysio (hist.) Yuma
Colfred Growler Mohawk San Luis Yuma Indian Homestead
Dateland Horn Noah Somerton
Dome Hyder Norton Steam
Engesser Junction Kim Owl Stoval

Websites

References

  1. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Williams 108-110
  4. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  5. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  6. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  7. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  8. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
  9. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
  10. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
  11. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  12. Ariz. Laws 1983, 36th assy., ch. 291/pp. 1089-1094
  13. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Yuma County, Arizona p. 57. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 March 2014, at 21:44.
  • This page has been accessed 8,671 times.