Ål parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ål parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngKopparberg County Gotoarrow.png Ål parish


Guide to Ål parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

By the year 1386, Gagnef parish was created from Ål parish. In 1583 Bjursås was created from Ål parish. Originally Ål parish had its own pastorat, then it became a annex to Leksand and later to Gagnef.


Ål
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1562 Leksand, 1562-1613 Gagnef, 1613- Ål
Län 1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1893 Leksand, Ål and Bjursås, 1894-1915 Leksand, 1916-1947 Leksand and Gagnef, 1948-1970 Nedansiljans domsaga
Domsaga 1687-1875 Östra, later called Österdalarne, 1876-1974 Nedansiljan, 1975- Leksand
Fögderi 1720-1917 Nedansiljan, 1918-1946 Västerdal, 1946- Falun
Länsmansdistrikt -1917 Ål
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Falun
Kommun 1863-1973 Ål, 1974- Leksand
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Leksands and Gagnefs Kompanier, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Dalregementet: Majorens (Leksands) and Gagnefs kompanier
FamilySearch I.D. 6373257
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11776


Place Names

Brenäs, Busmor, Bäckeberg, Bäckebo,
Capellansgården,
Halgbo, Halgnäs, Heden Östra, Heden Nedre, Holen,
Kihlen, Kvarnberg,
Mårtensberg
Oxberg,
Prästgården,
Rexbo,
Skolgården, Solarvet, Solberga, Sätra, Sörskog,
Tunsta, Tällberg,
Valberg, Varåsen, Åhlby.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Ål parish, Husförhörslängd AI:11a and 11b 1840-1849, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Ål Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Skatteverket. "Ål." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). March 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna