Åmot parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Åmot parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search


Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngGävleborg County Gotoarrow.pngÅmot parish


Guide to Åmot parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)


In 1785 Åmots bruksförsamling was created within Ockelbo socken. Church books for this new congregationden began in 1797. In 1931 Åmot became an annexförsamling.
Åmot
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat Ockelbo
Län Gävleborg
Landskap Gästrikland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1693 Ockelbo, 1693-1879 Ockelbo och Hamrånge, 1880-1920 Gästriklands västra, 1921-1970 Gästriklands västra domsagas
Domsaga -1920 Gästrikland, 1921-1970 Gästriklands västra, 1971- Sandvikens tingsrätt
Fögderi se Ockelbo
Länsmansdistrikt se Ockelbo
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863- Ockelbo
Militär indelning add here
FamilySearch I.D. 6373259
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010238


Place Names

Björnmossen,
Furbo,
Gammelåsen,
Heden,
Knottåsen (Knåttåsen), Kroksjön, Kvarnåsen, Källsjön,
Långfäbodarna, Långsveden, Lövtjärn,
Mojsjön, Mörtsjöriset,
Norrbofäbodar,
Präståsen,
Rönnbacken,
Storåsen, Svartandal, Särstamyra,
Timsen, Trätåsen,
Vraksveden, Västerbo (Västbo),
Åbo, Åmot, Åmots bruk, Åmots bruksgård, Åmots by se även Åmot (Åmots by see also Åmot), Åmot Långsveden, Åmot Vraksveden.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Gävleborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Gävleborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Åmot parish, Husförhörslängd AI:6 1836-1841, Ort register.

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Åmot Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2015 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/