Århus County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Århus County, Denmark)
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Denmark
Århus County
Aarhus-Denmark.png

Guide to Århus ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

History

Aarhus County or Århus County (Danish: Århus Amt) is a former county of Denmark (Danish: amt) on the Jutland peninsula. It was created in 1970 by the fusion of the Aarhus, Randers and Skanderborg counties. The county was abolished effective 1 January 2007, when almost all of it merged into Region Midtjylland (i.e. Region Central Jutland). A very small portion was merged into Region Nordjylland (Region North Jutland). At the time of its abolishment, more than 20,000 people worked for the county.

Archives, Societies, and Libraries

(enter archive, society, library contact information)

Census Records

Districts 

  • Framlev Herred 
  • Hads Herred 
  • Hasle Herred
  • Ning Herred 
  • Sabro Herred 
  • Vester Lisbjerg Herred
LyngåHadstenVittenHaldumFolbyGrundførSpørringTrigeSøftenØlstedLisbjergElevElstedLadingSabroFårupVejlbyRisskovÅrhus Vor FrueKastedTilstHasleÅbyBrabrandSønder ÅrslevLyngbySkørringSjelleSkivholmeBorumGaltenSkovbyFramlevStorringStjærHarlevOrmslevKoltVibySkådeHolmeTranbjergTisetMårsletBederMallingAstrupTulstrupHvilstedTorrildOdderNølevSaksildBjeragerRandlevHundslundFallingØrtingHallingGosmerGyllingAlrøTunøAarhus Map.jpg

Parishes

Map of parishes

Probate Records

Estates (Godser)

  • Åkær
  • Århus bispestols gods
  • Århus domkirkes gods
  • Århus domkirkes øverste kapellanis gods
  • Århus Frue præsts gods
  • Århus hospitals gods
  • Århus hospitalspræsts gods
  • Århus lektorats gods
  • Århus rektorats gods
  • Århus stiftsprovstis gods