Åsted Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Hjørring County
Asted

Guide to Åsted, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Åsted Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Åsted-Skærum Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Sejlstrup
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Horns
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 9
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 23
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names

Agerskov, Amager

Bakholm, Bakkehus, Bakkely, Bakken, Bechmann, Bjørnbakke, Bredsig, Broager, Brunlynget, Bude, Burskov, Bækmaden, Bækmojen

Christiansminde

Dal, Dalbæk

Elisehøj, Elmelund, Elsig, Engholm, Engsig, Eskærhus

Favrholt, Favrholt Hede, Flamsbakke, Fuglsang, Fuglsang Mølle

Gjedsig, Gjedsighus, Godthaab, Goldsig, Granly, Grønlund, Guldbækskær, Guldbækskærhus, Gustavsborg

Hald, Havshøj, Hedelund, Heden, Hedevang, Hedeaas, Hestehave Bakke, Holkær Høj, Horsevad Hedehus, Hoven, Hæaas, Hæbbelsted, Højlund, Højmark, Højodde, Højvang, Haabendal

Katrinedal, Kig-ud, Kirkensgaard, Kistehøj, Kongshøj, Krilhus, Kringelhus, Krogen, Kvissel, Kvisselbro, Kvissel Brænding, Kvissel Krog, Kvisselbrohus

Landlyst, Lille Hedelund, Lille Haabendal, Lille Ravnshøj, Lindet, Lindet Mølle, Lindetskrog, Lindetsvad, Lindhaven, Lindholt, Lunden, Lundholm, Lybæk, Lykkesholm

Mejling, Mejlinggaard, Mejlinghede, Mellemgaard, Morbro Bæk, Morbroen, Mosemarken, Mummetoft, Mølskov

Neder Hoven, Neder Storgaard, Nederskov, Nedre Budde, Nistrup, Nistruphus, Nygaard, Nygaards Mølle, Nymark, Nørgaard, Nørre Budde, Nørre Elsig, Nørre Fuglsang, Nørre Grønlund, Nørre Nistrup, Nørre Ribberholt, Nørre Skjortholt, Nørre Stendet, Nørre Stenhaven, Nørre Tørrildhave, Nørregaard

Over Budde, Over Storgaard, Overskov

Ravnsholt, Ravnshøj, Ravnshøjhus, Ribberholt, Ringhøj, Rolykke, Rosenhøj, Rosenlund, Rydal, Rævmose, Røntvedhus

Skaftved, Skaftvedhus, Skelsig, Skjortholt, Skovbakken, Skovly, Skovsgaard, Skærum Aa, Smittenbjerg, Solhøj, Solvang, Spindelund, Starbakken, Store Haabendal, Store Ravnshøj, Store Starbakken, Sønder Elsig, Sønder Fuglsang, Sønder Grønlund, Sønder Skjortholt, Sønder Stendet, Sønder Tørrildhave, Sønder Vasen, Søndergaard, Sønderhede, Søndermarken, Sønderskov

Tabor, Tagsighus, Tronsgaard, Tørrildshave

Ulvehøj

Vasen, Vejen, Vejrbakken, Vester Mejlinggaard, Vester Nistrup, Vester Ribberholt, Vestergaard, Vester Lynget, Vestermark, Vesterskoven, Vingaarden

Øster Fuglsang, Øster Lynget, Øster Mejlinggaard, Øster Mosemark, Øster Nistrup, Øster Ribberholt, Øster Stendet, Østerby

Aasted, Aasted Hede, Aasted Mølle, Aasted Aa

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Elling, Flade, Gerum, Skærum, Tolne

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.