Östergötland: Ask parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngÖstergötland County Gotoarrow.png Ask parish


Guide to Ask parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Östergötland: Ask
Jurisdictions
Stift Linköping
Pastorat -1558 Ekebyborna, 1558-1578 Vinnerstad, 1578-1601 Ekebyborna, 1601-1699 Vinnerstad, 1699-1922 Ekebyborna, 1922-1961 Varv and Styra, 1962Fornåsa
Län Östergötland
Landskap Östergötland
Härad Aska härad
Tingslag -1906 Aska, 1907-1970 Aska, Dal and Boberg
Domsaga 1971- Motala tingsrätt
Fögderi 1720-1899 Lysings, Dals and Aska fögderi, 1900-1917 Aska, Dals and Bobergs fögderi, 1918 Motala fögderi, 1952-1966 Vadstena fögderi
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863-1951 Asks kommun, 1952-1970 Bobergs kommun, 1971- Motala kommun
Militär indelning Andra Lif-Grenadier-Regementet: Bergslags Kompani, Första Lif-Grenadier-Regementet: Ydre Kompani


Place Names

Alma Södergård Rusthåll, Alma Utjord, Alma Västergård, Alma Östergård, Ask Fattigstuga, Ask Frälsegård, Ask Halvaregård, Ask Krongård, Ask Lillgård, Ask Mellangård Rusthåll, Ask Skattegård Rusthåll, Ask Sockenstuga, Ask Södergård, Ask Utjordar, Backen (under Smedberga Backgård), Backen (under Älmtomta Norrgård), Backgården Norra Smedberga, Backgården Södra Smedberga, Backstugan (under Ask Mellangård), Backstugan (under Skattegård), Backstugan (under Berga), Backstugan (under Byckorp), Backstugan (under Smedberga Mellangård), Backstugan (under Västergård), Backstugan (under Älmtomta Boställe), Backstugan (under Norrgård), Berga Mellangård, Berga Södergård, Berga Utjord, Björkelund, Björklund, Björklyckan, Bostället Älmtomta, Bullerbo, Byckorp, Dalen, Elmtomta (Älmtomta), Fattigstugan Ask, Frälsegården Ask, Frälsegården Smedberga, Gavelstena Utjord, Hagen, Halvaregården Ask, Högstorp, Karlslund, Krongården Ask, Källarhemmet, Landstorp, Lillgården Ask, Lillgården Smedberga, Livgrenadjärtorp (Älmtomta Norrgård), Lommekrog, Mellangården Ask, Mellangården Berga, Mellangården Smedberga, Norrgården Smedberga, Norrgården Älmtomta, Prästkulla, Rosenberg, Rusthållet Alma Södergård, Rusthållet Ask Mellangård, Rusthållet Ask Skattegård, Rävinge, Sanden, Sandstorp, Skattegården Ask, Skogalund, Smedberga Backgård, Smedberga Frälsegård, Smedberga Lillgård, Smedberga Mellangård, Smedberga Norrgård, Smedberga Norra Backgård, Smedberga Södra Backgård, Smedberga Västergård, Sockenstuga Ask, Stenkullen, Stenstorp, Södergården Alma, Södergården Ask, Södergården Berga, Södergården Älmtomta, Tjädersborg, Törnlund, Udden, Utjordarna Ask, Utjordarna Berga, Utjordarna Gavelstena, Utjordarna Varby, Utjordarna Vedemö, Utjordarna Åby, Varby Utjord, Vedemö Utjord, Västergården Alma, Västergården Smedberga, Åby Utjord, Älmtomta Boställe, Älmtomta Norrgård, Älmtomta Södergård, Östergården Alma

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Östergötland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Östergötland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Riksarkivet. "Ask Församling (E-län)." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Skatteverket. "Ask." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). April 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna

Harlén, Hans. Sverige från A till Ö: geografisk-historisk uppslagsbok, Kommentus, Stockholm 2003

Ask Husförhörslängd Ortregister 1826 - 1850