Östervåla parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Östervåla parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngVästmanland County Gotoarrow.png Östervåla parish


Guide to Östervåla parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Östervåla
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat -1961 Östervåla, 1962- Östervåla and Harbo
Län 1634-1940 Västmanland, 1641-1646 Sala, 1647- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Våla
Tingslag -1887 Våla härad, 1888-1970 Västmanlands östra domsaga
Domsaga -1970 Simtuna, Turstuna, Våla, Över- and Yttertjurbo, från 1850-talet benämnd Västmanlands östra, 1865- Västmanlands södra (Yttertjurbo), 1971- Sala
Fögderi 1720-1881 Salberg, 1881-1946 Salbergs-Väsby, 1946- Sala,
Länsmansdistrikt -1903 Östervåla and Harbo, 1903-1917 Våla (Salbergs-Väsby fögderis första)
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Västerås
Kommun 1863-1951 Östervåla, 1952-1970 Östervåla (storkommun), 1971- Heby
Militär indelning Livregements (Brigadens Lätta Infanteri-) Grenadjärkår:
Östra Västmanlands Kompani
Västmanlands Regemente:
Salbergs kompani
Livregementet Till Häst:


Place Names

Allmänningen, Andersbo, Aspnäs,

Backa, Barby, Berg, Bjurvalla, Björksveden, Boden, Borgen, Bragdebo, Brunsbo, Buckarby, Buddbo, Bulten,

Disbo,

Ellinga, Ellingbo,

Fallet, Fogelsta,

Ginka, Gräsbo, Gundbo, Gunnarsbo, Gåvastbo, Gällarbo, Gästbo,

Hagen, Helganbo, Hellanbo, Hemmingsbo, Hermansveden, Horrskog Huggle, Håf, Hålberga, Hålfvarbo Lilla, Hålfvarbo Stora,

Ingansbo, Ingeborgbo,

Kanickebo, Karla Quarn, Kattelbo, Klöstret, Korbo, Korsbo Kullarbo, Kälbo Källmyra,

Lagbo, Laggarbo Lilla, Laggarbo stora, Lindersby, Lindsbro, Lisselbo, Långgarsbo, Långgärde,

Mångsbo, Mårtsbo,

Norr Sälja, Norrbo, Nyby, Nybygge,

Offerbo, Olbo,

Ploga,

Ragnarbo, Rickebo, Rickebo, Runnebo, Råttebo, Räfsvad,

Seveds Torp, Sillbo, Skogbo, Slättan, Smedsbo Lilla, Smedsbo Stora, Smedstorp, Smulbo, Staffansbo, Sterte, Stigmota, Sveden, Svedäng, Svina, Svingbolsta, Sätran,

Tobbo, Tolbo, Trollberg, Trädgårdstorp, Tängesbo,

Upplanda,

Vreta, Väderholmen, Wästra Sälja,

Åby, Åkerby

Äspenbo,

Öndebo Österbo,



To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Östervåla, Husförhörlängd 1836-1841, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from:  Riksarkivet. "Östervåla Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April  2012 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/