Överkalix parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Överkalix parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngNorrbotten County Gotoarrow.pngÖverkalix parish


Guide to Överkalix parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Överkalix
Jurisdictions
Stift pre 1647 Uppsala ärke, 1647 to 1904 Härnösand, after 1904 Luleå
Pastorat pre 1644 Nederkalix
Län pre 1810 Västerbotten, after 1810 Norrbotten
Landskap add here
Härad add here
Tingslag 1680 to 1947 Överkalix 1948-1970 Kalix
Domsaga 1680 to 1820 Västerbottens norra kontrakt, 1820 to1838 Norrbotten, 1838 to 1876 Norrbottens norra, 1877 to 1970 Kalix, after 1971 Haparanda tingsrätts
Fögderi pre 1810 Västerbottens tredje, 1810 to 1827 Luleå, after 1827 Kalix
Länsmansdistrikt Överkalix
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun After 1863 Överkalix
Militär indelning Norrbottens Fältjägare-Corps', Extra Soldat-Roteringen


Place Names

Alshammar, Allsjärv, Allsån, Alsåklubben, Ansvar, Björksvedjan, Bladviken, Boheden, Bredseludden, Bredträsk, Bränna,

Djupträsk, Dockas,  Däldberg, Däldheden,

Ertsjärv, Elmajerv,

Furunäs, Försöket,

Grelsbyn, Gyljeheden, Gyljens Bruk,

Hannumäki, Heden, Holmfors, Holmforsudde, Hoppet, Hultet, Hällan,

Jokk, Johannisberg,

Kalvudden, Kangis, Kantula, Karkjärv, Karls, Kenttäniemi, Kesasjärv, Klara, Kopparsjärv, Kugerbäcken, Kypäsjärv, Kyrkobordet, Kälvjärv, Kälvudden, Kölmjärv, Körmyrholm,

Lahnajärvi, Lahnasuando, Landet, Landsjärv, Landsån, Lanto, Lilledet , Lilla Pulmajärv (se Poulamaajärvi) also Poulamaajärvi, Lillselet, Lillsundet,, Lillträsk, Liminkojoki, Liminkojärvi, Lomträsk, Långforssel, Långviksudden,

Marsjärv, Mettävainio, Mekojärvi, Mjölaminuten, Mjölamyrviken, Mjölaskatan, Mjöträsk, Muglom, Männikkös,

Naisjärv, Narken, Narkudden, Niva (Närä eller Niva) Närä or Niva, Nordhammar, Notträsk, Nybyn, Närä eller Niva (Närä or Niva),

Olofsfors,  Orasjärv,

Palovaara, Pesaträsk, Pirttivaara, Poimisträsk, Polajärv (se Puolamaajärvi) also Puolamaajärvi, Posjärv, Puolamaajärvi, Puolamaajärvi Lilla, Puolamaajärvi,

Rudjärf,  Ruona, Räktfors, Räktjärv, Räcktjärsträsk,

 Rödupp, Rönsjärv,

Saikosjärvi, Salmi, Sandsjärv, Sanningslandet, Snarberg, Staviksudden, Stenträsket Stora, Stråkamällan, Stora Puolamaajärvi (se Puolamaajärvi) also Puolamaajärvi, Storfors, Stråkaudden, Stråkan, Strömsund, Stubblandet, Svartbyn, Svartträsk, Svedjan,

Talljärv, Tallsjön, Tallvik, Tamsjärf,  Teurajärvi, Tjärnheden, Tjärshemmanet, Träsk, Tväredet,

Vaktjärv, Valheden,  Vallsjärv, Vinnäset, Visslacht, Vännäs, Västervik, Västhammar,

Ytterstråkan,

Älmajärvi, Ängesån,

Östhammar, Överkalix,

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Norrbotten Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Norrbotten" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Riksarkivet. "Överkalix  församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Överkalix parish, Husförhörslängd, 1845-1852, Ort register.