Ålborg County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aalborg County, Denmark)
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark Research Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Denmark
Åalborg County

Guide to Ålborg ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .

History

Ålborg County (Danish: Ålborg Amt, former spelling: Aalborg Amt) is a former province in Denmark, located in north-eastern Jutland around the eastern approach to the Limfjord. Ålborg County was established in 1793 and abolished in 1970 when it merged with Hjørring County forming the new North Jutland County.

The region belonged to Himmersyssel during the Middle Ages, with the exception of Kær Herred - located north of the Limfjord - which belonged to Vendsyssel. In 1542, the north Jutland region was reorganised as Aalborghus Len. This province was divided in 1662 forming Aalborghus County and Aastrup, Sejlstrup and Børglum County.

The latter province was divided again in 1793 with the bulk of its territory being reorganized as Hjørring County. Smaller parts of the province became parts of the counties of Thisted and Ålborg. This division lasted from 1793 to 1970 when the two counties merged, forming the new North Jutland County.

Ålborg County featured the market towns (købstæder) of Ålborg, Løgstør, Nibe, and Nørresundby.

Archives, Societies, and Libraries

Ålborg State Archives: http://www.aalborgstadsarkiv.dk/

Census Records

Districts

  • Fleskum Herred
  • Gislum Herred
  • Hellum Herred
  • Hindsted Herred
  • Hornum Herred
  • Kær Herred
  • Slet Herred
  • Års Herred
ÅbyAjstrupBierstedVadumSulstedHammerLindholmHvorupNørresundby CityHorsensVester HassingØster HassingUlstedHalsRanumRanumMalleLøgstør CityLøgstedKornumNæsborgOverladeVilstedVindblæsSkarp SallingFarstrupFarstrupSebberOudrupLundbyGunderstedStore AjstrupStrandbyLovnsAlstrupFovlumUllitsFarsøVognsildGislumHyllebjergFlejsborgVester HornumUlstrupHavbroÅrsBlæreEjdrupSkivumGiverBinderupKongens TistedDurupGrynderupRørbækStenildBrorstrupHaverslevRavnkildeBislevNibe CityVokslevVeggerbySuldrupSønderupÅrestrupNørholmSønderholmFrejlevSvenstrupØster HornumEllidshøjBuderupGravlevHasserisÅlborg Vor FrueDallFerslevVolstedNøvlingSønder TrandersGunderupRomdrupKlarupStorvordeLillevordeGudumSejlflodØlsHørbyDøstrupVebbestrupValsgårdOveRoldStore ArdenRostrupAstrupViveHadsundVisborgSkelundAlsSkørpingFræerGerdingTorupBlenstrupStore BrøndumSiemSolbjergLyngbyBælumSkibstedKomdrupNørre KongerslevSønder KongerslevMouAalborg Map.jpg

Parishes

Map of parishes

Probate Records

Estates

  • Albæk
  • Attrup
  • Berkelse
  • Birkelse
  • Bjørnkær
  • Bjørnkærgård
  • Bjørnsholm
  • Brøndum-Siem-Torup Pastorat gods
  • Buderupholm
  • Byfoged Jens Hostrups gods
  • Byfoged Niels Foersoms gods
  • Bælum
  • Dalsgård
  • Egense kloster og Høstemark gods
  • Gettrup
  • Gudumlund
  • Gunderupgård
  • Halkær
  • Havnø
  • Hessel
  • Høstemark
  • Klarup
  • Klarupgård
  • Kongstedlund
  • Krastrup
  • Langholt
  • Lindenborg
  • Lundbæk
  • Mourids Nielsen i Rold
  • Mylenberg
  • Mølgård
  • Nøragergård
  • Nørlund
  • Ovegård
  • Randrup
  • Refsnæs
  • Restrup
  • Rødslet
  • Sebberkloster
  • Sigsgård
  • Sohngårdsholm
  • Store Restrup
  • Torstedlund
  • Tulsted
  • Vang
  • Vår
  • Vennersborg
  • Vesterladegård
  • Viffertsholm
  • Villestrup
  • Vilsted-Vindblæs præstegods
  • Visborggård
  • Vissegård
  • Vivebrogård
  • Voergård
  • Volstrup
  • Vrå
  • Ørndrup
  • Østerå
  • Ålborg hospital gods
  • Ålborg Vor Frue pastorats gods
  • Årupgård