Abbeystrowry Civil Parish, County Cork Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Ireland Gotoarrow.png Counties of Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Cork Gotoarrow.png County Cork Parishes Gotoarrow.png Abbeystrowry Civil Parish, County Cork Genealogy

The following information is a starting point for records about the civil parish of Abbeystrowry. The information is based on locations and records before 1922.

Historical Overview

History

Add a brief statement about historical background, including a Web site link if available.

Localities

List the names of townlands in this civil parish List the names of the surrounding parishes List the names and give a description of a district, poor law union, etc.

Maps and gazetteers

Add a Web site link for a map or gazetteer site, and/or add a printed source. Read more about maps and gazetteers.

Records

Cemeteries

Add references to indexes to gravestones or monumental inscriptions.

Census

The purpose of a census was to gather information about people who lived in an area. While the government began census taking in 1821, only fragments exist before 1901. Censuses for 1901 and 1911 are available. Read more about the records in the Ireland Census article.

Add information here about census substitutes that you know about.

Church records

Read general information about church records.

Catholic

Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Cork Gotoarrow.png County Cork Catholic Parishes

Guide to Caheragh Catholic Parish, County Cork ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, baptism records, marriage records, and burial records.

Maps

  • A map of the Civil Parishes of County Cork is available at the Irish Times site.
  • A map of the Catholic Parishes of North-West Cork is available at the Irish Times site.
  • A map of the Catholic Parishes of South-West Cork is available at the Irish Times site.
  • A map of the Catholic Parishes of East Cork is available at the Irish Times site.

Parish Records

For a free guide to Abbeystrowry Civil Parish, County Cork Genealogy parish records available online, see: Irish Ancestors.

Caheragh parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Caheragh Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IRISH 1800s 1800s 1800s 1800s
NLI 1818-1881 1818-1880
IRISH = Irish Genealogy - free. [1]
NLI = National Library of Ireland - free. [2]

Research Help

This Latin Word List will enable you to translate the Latin used in the records.

Search Strategy

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and determine a birth year to search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.





Church of Ireland

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

Presbyterian

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

Methodist

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

Society of Friends

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

Others

Name(s) of ecclesiastical parish, records, availability, archive, online indexes, notes.

Civil Registration

Government registration of births and deaths began in 1864. Registration of Protestant marriages began in 1845, with all marriages being registered by 1864. Go to the Ireland Civil Registration article to read more about these records.

Land records

The Registry of Deeds started in 1708. Land transactions were recorded, including immovable property passed on in a will and property given to a daughter at her marriage. Read more about these records in the Ireland Land and Property article.

Probate records

Probate dealt with the property of a deceased person. Read more about these records in the Ireland Probate Records article.

Add information about probate records for this parish.

School records

Read more about these records in the Ireland Schools article. Add records for this parish.

Tax records

The valuation of property for tax purposes was started in the 1840s by Richard Griffith. A tax paid to the church, call Tithe Applotments, began in the 1820s. Read about these records in the Ireland Taxation and Ireland Land and Property articles. Add records for this parish that you know about.

Web Sites

Add a site for this civil parish.

Further Reading

Add sources here.

References

  1. 'Church Records', Irish Genealogy, accessed 9 July 2015.
  2. 'Catholic Parish Registers at the NLI', National Library of Ireland, accessed 9 July 2015.

See also