Aberdeenshire, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Aberdeenshire, Scotland)
Jump to: navigation, search
Scotland Wiki Topics
Flag of Scotland.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources


ScotlandGotoarrow.png Aberdeenshire

Scotland-aberdeenshire.png




Aberdeen is a maritime county in the north-east part of Scotland.  It is one of the most extensive counties in the kingdom and is bounded on the north by the Moray Firth, on the east by the German Ocean, on the south by the counties of Perth, Angus, and Kincardine, and on the west by the counties of Banff and Inverness.  It is eighty-six miles in extreme length and fourty-two miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 1985 square miles or 1,276,400 acres.  The county contains eighty-five parishes and eight civil districts.  It includes the three royal burghs of Aberdeen, Kintore, and Inverury, the market-towns of Peterhead, Fraserburgh, Huntly, Turriff and Meldrum, and numerous large fishing villages on the coast.  In 1851 the population was 192,387.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed. 1851; Family History Library book 941 E5L.)

Scotlands People: An Important Online Source

ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.

The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:

  • Statutory Registers
  • Old Parish Registers
  • Catholic Parish Registers
  • CPR Others
  • Census
  • Valuation Rolls
  • Soldiers’ Wills
  • Wills & Testaments
  • Coats of Arms

For more detail on exact record availability, see Availability. For examples of the records available, see Record Types and Examples. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a small pay per view fee to see the actual digitized record.

Census

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Aberdeenshire for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960

Parishes

Some of the Aberdeen parish records are indexed in Aberdeen, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.

This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Aberdeen in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.

Here is a list of the historic parishes in the county of Aberdeen. Click on the parish name to see information about records.Click this link for a map of the Aberdeenshire parishes.

PARISH No. *** PARISH No.
Aberdeen 168a Kincardine O'Neil 209
Aberdour 169 King Edward 210
Aboyne 170 Kinkell--see Keithall and Kinkell 206
Alford 171 Kinnellar 211
Auchindoir and Kearn 172 Kinnethmont 212
Auchterless 173 Kinnoir--see Huntley 202
Belhelvie 174 Kintore 213
Birse 175 Leochel-Cushnie 214
Bourtie 176 Leslie 215
Braemar--see Crathie and Braemar 183 Logie Buchan 216
Cabrach 177 Logie Coldstone 217
Cairney 178 Longside 218
Chapel of Garioch 179 Lonmay 219
Clatt 180 Lumphannan  220
Cluny 181 Methlick 221
Coull 182 Midmar 222
Millbrex 222B
Crathie and Braemar 183 Monquhitter 223 
Crimond 184 Monymusk 224
Cruden 185 New Deer 225
Culsalmond 186 Newhills 226
Cushnie--see Leochel-Cushnie 214 New Machar 227
Daviot 187 Old Deer 228
Drumblade 188 Old Machar 168b 
Drumoak 189 Old Meldrum  229
Dumbennan--see Huntly 202 Oyne 230
Dyce 190 Peterculter 231
Echt 191 Peterhead 232
Ellon 192 Pitsligo 233
Essie--see Rhynie 237a Premnay 234
Fintray 193 Rathen  235
Forgue 194 Rayne 236
Foveran 195 Rhynie (with Essie) 237b
Fraserburgh 196 Savoch 237b
Fyvie 197 Skene  238
Gartly 198 Slains 239
Glass 199 Strathdon  240
Glenbucket 200 Strichen  241
Glengairn--see Glenmuick 201 Tarland & Migvy 242
Glenmuick 201 Tarves 243
Huntly 202 Tough 244
Insch 203 Towie 245
Internochtie--see Strathdon 240 Tullich--see Glenmuick 201
Inverurie 204 Tullynessle & Forbes 246
Kearn--see Auchindour 205 Turriff 247
Keig 205 Tyrie 248
Keithall and Kinkell 206 Udny 249
Kemnay 207
Kildrummy 208


Archives and Libraries

The Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire Archives has recently put the catalogue to their collection on the Internet at Their collection of genealogical value includes:

  • Records of the poor relating to Aberdeenshire, Morayshire, Banffshire and Kincardineshire
  • School records for Aberdeenshire, Morayshire, Banffshire, Kincardineshire and Aberdeen City
  • Burial records for some City cemeteries, as well as some in Aberdeenshire
  • Records for several burghs in Aberdeen and Moray shires.
  • Congregational, Episcopal and Methodist Church Records for a number of congregations in Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire
  • Tax lists from as early as the 15th century 
  • Valuation Rolls and Registers of Electors

Some burial records in their collection have been digitized and are searchable online at http://www.deceasedonline.com/.

The Aberdeen City Library has a local studies collection that includes published:

  • Parish and local histories
  • Biographies and family history
  • Education, literature and architecture sources
  • Local authority minutes and development plans
  • Electoral and valuation rolls
  • Newspapers and Periodicals
  • Directories
  • Maps
  • Photographs

Maps

Poorhouse Records

There are three poorhouses:

  • Buchan Combination (Maud) Buchan

Societies

Aberdeen & NE Scotland FHS
164 King St.
Aberdeen
AB24 5BD
Scotland
Tel No: +44 (0)1224 646323


ScotlandFamily History Society of Buchan
22 Harbour Street
PETERHEAD, Aberdeenshire
AB42 1D
Scotland
Tel: 01779 238 416
Contact Information

Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
EDINBURGH
EH1 2JL
Scotland

 Websites